Board of Education

  Board of Education: 910.678.2300

Greg West, Vice Chair

Greg West
Chair – At Large

Office Information
2465 Gilliespie Street
Fayetteville, NC 28306
Phone: 910.678.2300

Home Information
506 Charleston Place
Fayetteville, NC 28303

I am honored to serve as your chair of the Cumberland County Board of Education. 2013 was an outstanding year of accolades: being named as a Broad Prize Finalist and one of the most improved school districts, receiving AdvancED Accreditation, and achieving an 80 percent high school graduation rate. We will not rest on our laurels in 2014. 
Though we face budget cuts like many districts across the state, we strive to provide a world-class education each day for our students. Our educators realize now more than ever before that it is imperative for our children to be able to compete in this global society.
Cumberland County Schools will continue with our efforts to raise test scores by building support systems for schools through the Common Core Curriculum. Our technology resources will assist with this initiative as we are 100 percent wireless as a school district. 
We will continue to keep parents abreast of district initiatives through the following resources: 
  • Home Base ParentPortal, a user-friendly Web application that allows parents to monitor their child’s academic progress; 
  • ParentLink, a messaging system via phone calls, e-mail, and text messaging; and 
  • CCS’ mobile app with district information, school sports and social media access. 
We are committed to children. Together, we can continue to be ‘a step above’ as we move our school district forward.
Greg West

James A. McLauchlin

Michael Boose Kim Fisher

James A. McLauchlin
Vice Chair – District 2

8208 Ella Mae Dr.
Fayetteville, NC 28314

Michael Boose
At Large

309 Farley Place
Fayetteville, NC 28303

Kim Fisher
At Large

2119 Woods End Drive
Eastover, NC 28312

Alicia Chisolm

Carrie Sutton

Larry Lancaster

Alicia Chisolm
District 1

1855 Cascade Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Carrie Sutton
District 3

5422 Summer Duck Road
Fayetteville, NC 28314

Larry Lancaster
District 4

2602 Dartmouth Drive
Fayetteville, NC 28304

Susan Williams

Macky Hall


Susan Williams
District 5

4132 Bent Grass Drive
Fayetteville, NC 28312

Macky Hall
District 6

5420 McRae Street
Hope Mills, NC 28348

The Cumberland County Board of Education welcomes comments from the public and provides numerous opportunities for citizens to voice their opinions on issues that affect public education. Persons who wish to publicly speak to the full Board may do so at the regularly scheduled meeting on the second Tuesday of each month. A public comments session is held at the beginning of each meeting at 6:30p.m. Citizens may also choose to attend various Board committee meetings during which Board committees receive information and consider agenda items for recommendation to the full Board. Board committees are as follows: Curriculum, Personnel, Student Services/Activities, Budget/Finance, Policy/Student Assignment, and Facilities/Transportation/Cafeteria.

Above all else, the CC Board of Education serves our community. In assuming responsibility for the entire school district, these elected officials act in all measures, in the best interest of the children of the CCS. The “Contact” link on the Board Website is in place to ensure that the Board is available to receive input from its constituents at all times. Feel free to contact any Board member in person or by writing, on any subject related to the CCS or public education in general.

Published by Laurie Pender on March 14, 2014

Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias