District Administrator Receives Leadership Award
Published by Angel Hoggard on September 28, 2020

Dr. Theresa Perry, the director of Cumberland County Schools (CCS) Professional DevelopmentFayetteville, NC – The North Carolina School Superintendents’ Association (NCSSA) and the North Carolina Alliance for School Leadership Development (NCASLD) recently announced Dr. Theresa Perry, the director of Cumberland County Schools (CCS) Professional Development, as a recipient of the Dr. Samuel Houston Leadership Award. This annual award is presented to a graduate of the North Carolina School Superintendents’ Association Aspiring Superintendent Program, a program that is designed to empower transformational education leaders for North Carolina’s public schools.

“It is an incredible honor and definitely a highlight of my career to receive this award, named for Dr. Samuel Houston, who is an icon known for his innovative educational leadership and contributions to ensure excellent instructional opportunities for the students of North Carolina,” said Dr. Perry. “It meant a lot to me personally and professionally for Dr. Connelly to recommend me to participate in the North Carolina Aspiring Superintendent’s Association (NCASA). I appreciate Dr. Houston and Mr. Hoke, as well as the superintendents involved in the program for selecting me for this honor.”

The award is named in honor of Dr. Samuel Houston who is President and Chief Executive Officer of the North Carolina Science, Mathematics, and Technology Education Center. Dr. Houston served as superintendent of the Mooresville Graded School District for 10 years where he opened the first year-round school in North Carolina. Dr. Houston has been a champion for strategic planning, student performance and accountability, meeting the needs of the 21st-century workforce, skills for the STEM world and building education partnerships. He also served as the first executive director of the University of North Carolina Center for Leadership Development.

Dr. Houston was awarded the Jay Robinson Leadership Award as an Exemplary Educator for his outstanding contributions to statewide public K–12 education. He also earned the RJR-Nabisco Foundation’s China Breaker Award for implementing educational change. He has been inducted into the Appalachian State University Reich College of Education’s Rhododendron Society and the East Carolina University’s Education Hall of Fame and has received the Distinguished Career Award from the University of North Carolina – Greensboro School of Education.

Jack Hoke, the executive director of the NCSSA, said that Dr. Perry exemplifies the traits that have guided Dr. Houston’s career in educational leadership. “Dr. Perry has a commitment to continuous improvement, high standards of ethical conduct, strategic planning, improving student performance and meeting the needs of the 21st century workforce.”

“This is a well-deserved honor for a talented educational leader,” said CCS Superintendent Dr. Marvin Connelly, Jr. “Dr. Perry’s strong leadership capacity and commitment to the success of all students positions her well for continued growth in the field of education.”  


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances