Board Action: 6.15.18
Published by Laurie Pender on August 15, 2018

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting
August 14, 2018 

Administrative Recommendations

Assistant Principals
Anne Chesnutt Middle                       Jennifer O. Jasinski
Sherwood Park Elementary              Marcus Stewart
Westover High                                     Travis Stroud

Central Services
Chief Executive Community Engagement & Communications Officer 
Lindsay Whitley

Chief Academic Officer
Dr. Stacey Wilson-Norman

Associate Superintendent for Auxiliary Services 
Joe Desormeaux

Assistant Superintendent for District Transformation and Strategic Initiatives
Melody Chalmers

Re-title two Executive Directors to Assistant Superintendents             
Dr. Jane Fields (Secondary Education)
Dr. Mellotta Hill (Elementary Education)

Superintendent’s Update

Dr. Connelly shared the following information with the Board:

The CCS has been awarded $499,995 for FY 2018-2019 with a continuation of $499,995 for FY 2019-2020. These funds were awarded under the School Safety Grants Program that was launched last year with funding from the General Assembly. This program includes additional funding to North Carolina Public Elementary and Middle Schools for the training and/or employment of School Resource Officers (SRO) and was awarded to the district by the Superintendent of Public Instruction Mark Johnson through a competitive grant process. Because of the grant, 15 SROs will be assigned to serve our 52 elementary schools, instead of the six in previous years.

Board of Education

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Donna Van
District #4

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Greg West

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Porcha McMillan
District #2

Susan Williams
District #5

Peggy Hall
District #6

Dr. Marvin Connelly


State Superintendent Johnson will be visiting Douglas Byrd Middle School on Thursday (Aug. 16) to be briefed on the latest security efforts initiated by CCS’ Safety and Security, learn more about the School Angels Watch Program, and take a guided tour of security upgrades in our schools.

A final letter about the recent accreditation has been received. CCS’ Staff will return with a full report regarding its findings.

CCS’ Students in the Year-Round Schools (E.E. Miller Elementary, Anne Chesnutt Middle, Reid Ross Classical Middle, and High) returned to class on July 23. According to the CCS’ Planning Office, 1,668 students are enrolled. The number of students who returned to the district’s early-in schools (Cumberland Polytechnic High, A.B. Wilkins High, Cross Creek Early College High, and Cumberland International Early College High) is 887. Early-in schools opened their doors on August 6.

The formation of the Superintendent’s Student Voices Council (SSV), made up of all high school students, and the Superintendent’s Teacher Advisory Council (STAC), composed of teachers from across the district, will begin soon. Both groups will meet with Dr. Connelly monthly in order to share their ideas and insight regarding the culture of the district. 

The first stop on the Connelly Listening to Cumberland County Citizens (CLC3) Tours took place on Monday (Aug. 13) in the Shaw Auditorium at Fayetteville State University and is being hailed a success. More than 300 students, parents, employees, and community members attended. Many shared their thoughts, which ranged from services for Exceptional Children to the Arts in Schools to partnerships with local businesses. The next stop on the tour is scheduled for Monday, September 10 at 6:30 p.m. in the cafeteria at Howard Hall Elementary School.



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances