Board Action: 6.5.18
Published by Laurie Pender on June 6, 2018

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting
June 5, 2018 

Administrative Recommendations

Stoney Point Elementary                        Michael Tucker

Assistant Principals
Bill Hefner Elementary                           Tianna O’Brien
John Griffin Middle                                 Christina Cobb
Terry Sanford High                                  Yasmine Robbins
New Century Int’l Elementary               Larissa Perkins
Reid Ross Classical                                   Christin Etchison

Prime Time                                                Piper Taylor

Risk Manager
Human Resources                                   Laura Young

Training Manager
Child Nutrition Services                         Theresa Strong

Board Objects to Commissioners’ Appropriations
The Board unanimously approved a resolution declaring the budget ordinance adopted by Cumberland County Commissioners on June 4 will not adequately address “critical instructional, school safety and security needs, among other others, and is insufficient” to fund the CCS during the 2018-2019 Fiscal Year. The Board had previously requested of the Commissioners’ local current expense funding totaling $85,884,000.00, which would be used to support mental health, school social worker, and school nurse positions as well as additional School Resource Officers, with at least one SRO placed at every Cumberland County school. The resolution states that the local current expense appropriation of $79,463,109.00 approved by Commissioners is insufficient. Dispute resolution in this matter will be initiated pursuant to N.C.G.S. 115C-431. 

Board Gives ‘Thumbs Up’ to Supplemental Resources
Members of the Board approved supplemental resources for elementary and secondary core instruction in English Language Arts (ELA). The elementary program, Wit, and Wisdom, will be piloted in low-performing schools and those that choose to implement the program. My Perspectives will be implemented in grades sixth through 10th for the 2018-2019 school year. Both programs will help students build their capacity to read and engage in complex text and develop critical-thinking skills.

Board of Education

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Donna Van
District #4

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Greg West

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Porcha McMillan
District #2

Susan Williams
District #5

Peggy Hall
District #6

Interim Superintendent
Tim Kinlaw


Board Recognitions
Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support Services, introduced the following honorees to the Board to be recognized:

Gray’s Creek High School’s Unified Track Team
Student-athletes Devonte Pierce and Charles ‘Trace’ Bechtol and their Unified Partners Andrew Esterly and Kyler Brewington along with their coach, Earl Horan, were acknowledged for recently winning the 4×100 meter relay at the North Carolina High School Athletic Association’s State Track Meet. The meet was part of the Special Olympics Unified Sports, which is a fast-growing initiative that brings those with and without disabilities together to compete on the same team.

Cumberland County Association of Principals and Assistant Principals (CCAPAP)
CCAPAP President Dr. Mary Hales along with the Association’s Treasurer, Maria Pierce-Ford, and the Scholarship Committee Chair Cindy Anderson presented the following 11 local high school graduates as recipients of the 2017-2018 CCAPAP Scholarships:

Randolph Williams from E. E. Smith High School
Selena Beal from Terry Sanford High School
Dora Morrisey from Seventy-First High School
Kerrington Barnes from Westover High School
Sabrea Bailey from Douglas Byrd High School
Rachel Hales from Cross Creek Early College
Matthew Gates from Cape Fear High School
Caroline Ha from Jack Britt High School
Andrew Esterly from Gray’s Creek High School
Daryn Craig from South View High School
Ellin Heidgerken from Pine Forest High School

Future Educator Recipients – Associate Superintendent Ruben Reyes presented this year’s Future Educator recipients: Sha’More Lowery from Westover High School and Sydni Underwood from Cape Fear High School. Both high school seniors have plans to enter the education field after college.  

Jack Britt High School Softball Team
The Lady Buccaneers and their coaches were recognized for recently winning the 4A State Softball Championship. Jack Britt High is the first school in Cumberland County to win the state fast-pitch championship. The Team defeated South Caldwell High in the best of three series, 2 to 1 at Dail Park on the campus of N.C. State University. Also, team member Mackenzie George was named the series’ MVP, battling 3 for 4 in the championship game.



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances