Board Meeting Minutes: 12.12.17
Published by Laurie Pender on January 10, 2018

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
December 12, 2017

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Susan Williams, Carrie Sutton, Peggy Hall, Donna Vann, Judy Musgrave, Porcha McMillan, Greg West, Alicia Chisolm and Rudy Tatum. Others present were Superintendent Tim Kinlaw, Associate Superintendents Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Clyde Locklear, Ruben Reyes and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, media representative, district PTA representative, representatives of the NCAEOP and representatives of the teacher assistants association. 


Chairman Greg West called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Donna Vann, followed by the invocation by Peggy Hall.


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Pauline Allen, Student Government representative from A.B. Wilkins High School and Shana Okudzeto, Student Government Representative from Cross Creek Early College. Pauline and Shana were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.


            Marcus Harris – Cumberland Mills Elementary
            Sydney Harris – E.E. Smith High

The Board RECOGNIZED the following National Board Certification Candidates:

            Stephen Clabaugh – Jack Britt High (not present)
            Jennifer Helton – District 7 Elementary
            Dorothea Mixon – Pine Forest Middle
            Laura Ransom – Gallberry Farm Elementary (not present)
            Athena Rogers – Jack Britt High



The Board heard from five speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Sarah Tabor                Irene Grimes               Michelle Downing
Emily Lenning            Sue Nilsen

Adoption of the Agenda

Upon a motion by Susan Williams, seconded by Judy Musgrave, the agenda as presented was adopted unanimously by the Board.

Chairman Greg West called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA. 

Upon motion by Donna Vann, seconded by Carrie Sutton, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board:

5.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the November 21, 2017, Board Meeting

5.02 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.03 CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence and Special Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.04 CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendation as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.05 CONSIDER Approval of Salary Study as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.06 CONSIDER Granting Stedman Baptist Church permission to remove sentimental property as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee

5.07 CONSIDER Approval of Bid Award for Technology as recommended by the Finance Committee 

5.08 CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee 

5.09 CONSIDER Approval of Resolution-Implementing K-3 Class Size Changes as recommended by the Legislative Committee 

5.10 CONSIDER Approval of Class Size Waiver – Enhancement Courses as recommended by the Legislative Committee 

5.11 CONSIDER Approval of New / Revised Policies (Second Reading) 


DISCUSSION AGENDA: Curriculum Committee Report – Judy Musgrave

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Personnel Committee Report – Donna Vann

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Auxiliary Services Committee Report

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Student Services Committee Report – Susan Williams

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Budget Committee Report – Rudy Tatum

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Policy Committee Report – Carrie Sutton

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Legislative Committee Report – Greg West


13.01 CONSIDER Approval of Associate Superintendent Contracts

Upon a motion by Alicia Chisolm, seconded by Susan Williams, the Associate Superintendents Contracts were approved unanimously by the Board. (Exhibit K

13.02 RECEIVE Survey Results regarding Superintendent Search (presented by Allison Schafer – NCSBA) Ms. Schafer presented the board with a breakdown of the community and staff survey results. She was pleased with the number of surveys submitted.

Upon completion of the survey results, she asked our Board for their input in the qualities needed for a superintendent. Ms. Schafer will compile the results and bring the information back to our Board. The due date for applications is January 8, 2018.

13.03 CONSIDER Nominations for 2018 Chairman

Chairman Greg West opened the floor for nominations for 2018 Chairman.

Donna Vann nominated Carrie Sutton. No other nominations were made by Board Members. Carrie Sutton was chosen to be the 2018 Board Chairman by acclamation.

13.04 CONSIDER Nominations for 2018 Vice Chairman

Chairman Greg West opened the floor for nominations for 2018 Vice-Chairman.

Alicia Chisolm nominated Donna Vann for 2018 Vice Chairman. With no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Donna Vann was chosen to be the 2018 Vice Chairman by acclamation.


14.01 SPECIAL RECOGNITION of 2017 Vice Chairman, Donna Vann and 2017 Chairman, Greg West.

On behalf of the Board, Mrs. Alicia Chisolm presented a certificate to Mrs. Donna Vann in appreciation for her term as 2017 Board Vice-Chairman. Mrs. Chisolm then presented a gavel plaque to Mr. Greg West in appreciation for his service as 2017 Chairman.

Superintendent’s Update:

Mr. Kinlaw invited the Board to the public session being held on December 13th at Byrd Middle regarding the possible transition plan.  He then invited the Board to the Holiday Social here on December 15th and the Holiday event at the Operations Center on December 19th.

Mr. Kinlaw reminded the Board and Community of the County meeting at Gray’s Creek High to discuss the problem occurring with GenX. Finally, he reminded the Board and invited them to attend the Holiday Classic Basketball Tournament on December 19–22, 2017.

In closing, Mr. Kinlaw recognized David Phillips for his nearly 15 years of service and dedication to Cumberland County Schools. We wish Mr. Phillips the very best as he moves forward with his endeavors.

Chairman’s Update:

Mr. West shared his appreciation to the Board for their support of the salary study and is pleased that our Board is able to provide raises for many employees. He thanked everyone for their support during his time as Chairman. In closing, Mr. West thanked our student officers for sharing their time and attention with us tonight and hopes to see everyone again at our January 9th meeting. He wished everyone safe and happy holidays.

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 7:52 pm.


Tim Kinlaw, Superintendent



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias