Board Action: May 9, 2017
Published by Laurie Pender on May 10, 2017

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

May 9, 2017 

Administrative Recommendations Approved
J.W. Seabrook Elementary School           Antoine McGill
Raleigh Road Elementary School             Alyson Beavers

Assistant Principals
William H. Owen Elementary                    Latreicia Allen
Westover High School                                 John A. McMillan

Regional Alternative Licensing Center      Karen Chavis                                                    
(Fayetteville Office)

Proposed 2017-2018 Budget Approved
The Board approved the school district’s planning budget of $456,712,901.00, which is up 1.51 percent from 2016-2017. The budget continues existing programs and provides for employee salary increases, additional teachers to meet new K-3 class size requirements, and funding to begin the implementation of the system’s salary study.  

Articulation Agreement Between CCS, FTCC Gets ‘Thumbs Up’
The Board unanimously approved the Articulation Agreement: Cumberland County Partnership between the Cumberland County Schools and Fayetteville Technical Community College (FTCC). The goal of the Agreement states that “students will make a seamless transition of identified courses from secondary to post-secondary education for college credit.”

The following criteria will be used to award college credit for identified high school courses within the partnership:
1.  Final Mark or B or higher in the course;
2.  Scaled score of 88 or higher on the standardized CTE post-assessment or earned industry-recognized credential aligned with the course; and
3.  Enroll at FTCC within two years of high school graduation.

This local agreement is built upon the state-wide articulation agreement between local educational systems and community colleges.

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support Services, introduced the following groups of honorees to the Board:

April 2017’s Amazing Acts of Character Award Recipients – Student Honorees Kyle Jones from Alma Easom Elementary School and Euraja Anderson from E.E. Smith High School were recognized for displaying ‘acts of good character’ above and beyond expected behavior. Members of the Board extended personal congratulations to both students.

Board of Education

Greg West

Donna Van
District #4

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Porcha McMillan
District #2

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Susan Williams
District #5

Peggy Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Cape Fear High School Wrestling State Champs – Wrestlers Marcelino Apone and Michael Vernagallo along with their coach, Heath Wilson, were recognized for recently being named 4-A State Wrestling Champions. Apone won at 106 pounds with an overall record of 45 and 1. Vernagallo earned the honor at 170 pounds and an overall record of 42 and 0.

Eastover-Central Elementary Battle of the Books Team – Members of the Eastover-Central Elementary BOB Team and their coaches were recognized for defeating six other BOB teams on April 28 to the win the Regional Elementary Battle of the Books Championship title.

Cumberland County Schools’ Champion for Children Award Recipients – Teacher Assistant Doris Spencer from E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary School, Teacher Pattie Griffin at Mary McArthur Elementary School, School Social Worker Pamela Stevenson at Terry Sanford High School, and Teacher Angela Fedo at Gray’s Creek Elementary School were recognized as educators who are ‘making a difference’ in our schools every day.This is the third group of CCS’ employees to receive the school system’s newly created Champion for Children Award.

Board Chair Greg West briefly recognized Associate Superintendent of Evaluation and Testing Ron Phipps for receiving the 2017 Clyde Davis Regional Accountability Coordinator 5 Testing Coordinator of the Year Award. The award is presented each year to a District Testing Coordinator from Region 5 who displays leadership not only in his/her county but across the state.



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias