Board Minutes: 3.14.17
Published by Laurie Pender on May 2, 2017

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
March 14, 2017

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Carrie Sutton, Susan Williams, Porcha McMillan, Donna Vann, Greg West, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum, Alicia Chisolm and Peggy Hall. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Clyde Locklear, Allison Violette, Ruben Reyes, Ron Phipps and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, media representative, district PTA representative, representatives of the NCAEOP, representatives of retired CCS employees associations, representatives from Communities in School and representatives of the teacher assistants association. 


Chairman Greg West called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Rudy Tatum, followed by the invocation by Donna Vann.


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Jessica Ware, Student Government representative from Gray’s Creek High School and Jordan Everett, Student Government Representative from Cape Fear High School. Jessica and Jordan were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

JaCiel Smith – E.E. Miller Elementary School
Elizabeth Abernathy – Stoney Point Elementary School
Evelyn Hartman – Stoney Point Elementary School

The Board RECOGNIZED the State Championship winning Bowling Team from Jack Britt High School

The Board RECOGNIZED State Champion Track Athletes:

Janay Hall – South View High
Jade Jordan – Pine Forest High

The Board RECOGNIZED CCS Champions for Children:

Linda Buie                  David Gilchrist
David Jackson            Natalie Godwin




The Board heard from nine speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Gaundi Allen              Dasha Maxwell                       Andrea Burns              Tannelaine Wilson
Monica Ramos            Elusa Lenczyk                         Andre Sansbury          Latashia Hairston
Carmella McKeller-Smith



Chairman Greg West called for a motion to ADOPT the Agenda

Upon motion by Susan Williams, seconded by Donna Vann, the agenda was adopted unanimously

Chairman Greg West called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA.

Upon motion by Rudy Tatum, seconded by Susan Williams, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board:

a) Approval of the Minutes of the February 14, 2017, Board Meeting

b) Approval of Release of Certain Students 

c) Approval of Personnel as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

d) Approval of Leaves of Absence and Special Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

e) Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

f) Approval of Allocation Planning as recommended by the Personnel Committee

g) Approval of Cooperative Innovative High School Renewal for Cross Creek Early College High School and Cumberland International Early College High School as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

h) Approval of SummerSchool Plan as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

i) Approval of Request to Name the Wrestling Room at Cape Fear High School after Michael Stanbridge as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

j) Approval of MSAP Grant Application as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 

k) Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee 


DISCUSSION AGENDA: Curriculum Committee Report – Judy Musgrave

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Personnel Committee Report – Donna Vann

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Auxiliary Services Committee Report – Rudy Tatum

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Student Services Committee Report – Alicia Chisolm

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Budget Committee Report – Carrie Sutton

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Policy Committee Report – Peggy Hall

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Legislative Committee Report

12.01 CONSIDER Approval of Compulsory Attendance Resolution and Juvenile Jurisdiction Resolution as recommended by the Legislative Committee

Upon a motion by Rudy Tatum, seconded by Alicia Chisolm, the resolutions were passed unanimously by the board. (Exhibit J)




Superintendent’s Update – Dr. Frank Till
Dr. Till shared the news that SGA President from E.E. Smith High, Dre’Shawn Spearman, won the prestigious Morehouse Award. We congratulate him. Additionally, Dr. Till shared that our Driven to Excel celebration will be held on May 16 at the Crown Arena.

Board Members’ Update
Chairman’s Update – Greg West

Mr. West notified the Board that he will contact board members to check their availability for a March 23 special meeting to discuss capital needs.

Mr. West congratulated our many award recipients tonight. In addition, he thanked our students and citizens for attending tonight’s meeting and hopes to see everyone again at our April 11 meeting.


With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:30 pm.                                                                             

Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias