Board Minutes: 2.14.17
Published by Laurie Pender on March 17, 2017

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina                                                                                
February 14, 2017

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, February 14, 2017 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Carrie Sutton, Susan Williams, Porcha McMillan, Donna Vann, Greg West, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum, Alicia Chisolm and Peggy Hall. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Clyde Locklear, Allison Violette, Ruben Reyes and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, media representative, district PTA representative, representatives of the NCAEOP, representatives of retired CCS employees associations, representatives from Communities in School and representatives of the teacher assistants association. 


Chairman Greg West called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Alicia Chisolm, followed by the invocation by Greg West.


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Dre’Shawn Spearman, Student Government representative from E.E. Smith High School and Kenyon Kasey, Student Government Representative from Cumberland International Early College High School. Dre’Shawn and Kenyon were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Caleb-Michael Rogers – New Century International Middle School
Antonio Rojas – Douglas Byrd High School
Surya Munugoti – Terry Sanford High School

The Board RECOGNIZED the Cape Fear High School Football Team – 2016 NC Eastern 4-A Champions.

The Board RECOGNIZED the 2017 Wells Fargo Outstanding Educator Award Recipients:

Tonya Anderson – Elementary
Latisha Edwards – Secondary
Sharonne Simmons – Administrative

The Board RECOGNIZED NCSPRA 2016 Blue Ribbon Awards Recipients:

Renarta Moyd                         Linda Posey                            Nakol Lovett
Laurie Pender                         Frank Till


The Board heard from seven speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Theresa Gale               Val Applewhite                       Cherry Boone              Monica Ramos
Gabrielle McCoy         Carmela McKeller-Smith        Sheila Livingston



Chairman Greg West called for a motion to ADOPT the Agenda

Upon motion by Donna Vann, seconded by Susan Williams, the agenda was adopted unanimously

Chairman Greg West called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA.

Upon motion by Susan Williams, seconded by Judy Musgrave, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board:

5.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of January 10, 2017, Board Meeting

5.02 CONSIDER Approval of Release of Certain Students 

5.03 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.04 CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence and Special Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.05 CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

5.06 CONSIDER Approval of Proclamation for Career and Technical Education Month as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

5.07 CONSIDER Approval of the 2017-2018 & 2018-2019 School Calendars Proposals as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

5.08 CONSIDER Approval of Policies (Second Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee 

5.09 CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee 

5.10 CONSIDER Approval of Telephone System Bids as recommended by the Finance Committee 



DISCUSSION AGENDA: Curriculum Committee Report – Judy Musgrave

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Personnel Committee Report – Donna Vann

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Auxiliary Services Committee Report – Rudy Tatum

8.01 CONSIDER Approval of REVISED Resolution Designating an Agent for the purpose of applying for Federal/State Disaster Funds due to Hurricane Matthew

Upon a motion by Rudy Tatum, seconded by Peggy Hall, the board approved the revised resolution unanimously

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Student Services Committee Report – Alicia Chisolm

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Budget Committee Report – Carrie Sutton

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Policy Committee Report – Peggy Hall

DISCUSSION AGENDA: Legislative Committee Report


13.01 CONSIDER Approval of Cumberland County Board of Education Resolution on K-3 Class Size Ratios

Upon a motion by Porcha McMillan, seconded by Rudy Tatum, the board voted unanimously to approve the resolution. (Exhibit K)


13.01 Superintendent’s Update – Dr. Frank Till

Dr. Till shared that our Driven to Excel mid-year celebration will be held Thursday at the Crown Arena.

13.02 Board Members’ Update

13.03 Chairman’s Update – Greg West

Mr. West congratulated our many award recipients tonight. In addition, he thanked our students and citizens for attending tonight’s meeting and hopes to see everyone again at our March 14th meeting.


With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 7:30 pm.



Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias