Board Minutes: 1.10.17
Published by Laurie Pender on February 15, 2017

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
January 10, 2017

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Carrie Sutton, Susan Williams, Porcha McMillan, Donna Vann, Greg West, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum and Peggy Hall. (Mrs. Chisolm was not in attendance tonight) Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Clyde Locklear, Allison Violette, Ruben Reyes and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, media representative, district PTA representative, representatives of the NCAEOP and representatives of the teacher assistants association. 

Chairman Greg West called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Peggy Hall, followed by the invocation by Porcha McMillan.

The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Tatiana Onley, Student Government representative from Seventy-First High School and Mykayla Williams, Student Government Representative from Cross Creek Early College High School. Tatiana and Mykayla were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Hailey Blair – Gray’s Creek Middle School
Miranda Draughon – Gray’s Creek Elementary School
Jayden Johnson – Morganton Road Elementary School
Maggie Kane – Long Hill Elementary School

The Board RECOGNIZED the following CCS Champion of Children Award Recipients:

Delores Bell and Jackie Brown – Instructional Assistants at South View Middle School
Grady “Cliff” Lovick, Custodian at District 7 Elementary School
Sheldon Harvey, Principal of Lewis Chapel MS

The Board heard from four speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Roberta Waddle                        Jimmy Buxton
Carmela McKeller-Smith        Brian Edkins


Chairman Greg West called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA.

Upon motion by Susan Williams, seconded by Donna Vann, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board members present:

4.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the December 13, 2016, Board Meeting

4.02 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

4.03 CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence and Special Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee

4.04 CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee

4.05 CONSIDER Approval of Bid for ThinkPads as recommended by the Finance Committee 

4.06 CONSIDER Approval of Request to name the Football Field at South View High School ‘The Randy Ledford Football Field’ as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

4.07 CONSIDER Approval of Policies (First Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee


  1. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Curriculum Committee Report – Judy Musgrave
  2. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Personnel Committee Report – Donna Vann
    6.01 CONSIDER Closed Session Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 143-318.11(a)(6) to discuss the qualification of a prospective public officer 
    Greg West made a motion to go into CLOSED SESSION, seconded by Rudy Tatum. The motion was unanimously approved by the board members present.
    Susan Williams made a motion, seconded by Judy Musgrave, to come OUT of CLOSED SESSION. The motion passed unanimously by the board members present.
    Susan Williams made a motion, seconded by Rudy Tatum, to approve Dr. Till’s recommendation. The motion passed unanimously by the board members present.
  3. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Auxiliary Services Committee Report – Rudy Tatum
  4. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Student Services Committee Report – Alicia Chisolm (not present)
  5. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Budget Committee Report – Carrie Sutton
  6. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Policy Committee Report – Peggy Hall
  7. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Legislative Committee Report – Porcha McMillan reported that our Legislative Breakfast will be held in our CCS Board Room on February 3, 2017, at 8:30 am




13.01 Superintendent’s Update – Dr. Frank Till

            Dr. Till shared that February 20th will no longer be a make-up day for students

13.02 Board Members’ Update

13.03 Chairman’s Update – Greg West

Mr. West reminded everyone that schools and offices will be closed on January 16th in observance of Dr. Martin Luther King holiday. In addition, he thanked our students and citizens for attending tonight’s meeting and hopes to see everyone again at our February 14th meeting.


With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:30 pm.                        


Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias