Board Minutes: 12.13.16
Published by Laurie Pender on January 11, 2017

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
December 13, 2016

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, December 13, 2016, at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Susan Williams, Carrie Sutton, Peggy Hall, Donna Vann, Judy Musgrave, Porcha McMillan, Greg West, Alicia Chisolm and Rudy Tatum. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Clyde Locklear, Allison Violette, Ruben Reyes and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, media representative, district PTA representative, representatives of the NCAEOP and representatives of the teacher assistants association. 


Chairman Susan Williams called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Susan Williams, followed by the invocation by Carrie Sutton.

Oaths of Office were administered to the following newly elected and re-elected board members:

Hon. Talmage Baggett –         Mrs. Donna Vann

                                                  Mrs. Susan Williams

Hon. Luis Olivera –                 Mrs. Porcha McMillan

Hon. Edward Pone –               Mrs. Alicia Chisolm

                                                  Mrs. Peggy Hall

                                                  Ms. Carrie Sutton


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Joshua Jensen, Student Government representative from Pine Forest High School and Karrington Barnes, Student Government Representative from Westover High School. Joshua and Karrington were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED Grade “A” Schools for Academic Performance:

            Beaver Dam Elementary

            Cross Creek Early College

            Cumberland Polytechnic High School

            Jack Britt High School

            District 7 Elementary




The Board heard from thirteen speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Fred Clark                   Billy R. King              Tracey Harris              Cureton Johnson

Lena Johnson              Bernice Hall               Derrick Montgomery Ronnie VanDyke

Stacey Williams         Labeeb Bilal               Andreyata Cole           Tondra Cook

Melanie Kincy


4.     Chairman Susan Williams called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA. 

Upon motion by Greg West, seconded by Judy Musgrave, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board:

4.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the November 22, 2016, Board Meeting

4.02 CONSIDER Release of Certain Students

4.03 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel as recommended by the Personnel Committee

4.04 CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence and Special Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee

4.05 CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee

4.06 CONSIDER Approval of Granting a Deed of Easement for Storm Water Drainage to the City of Fayetteville Fire Station 12 at J.W. Coon Elementary as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee

4.07 CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee

4.08 CONSIDER Approval of Consulting Agreement with Fairbanks, LLC as recommended by the Finance Committee

4.09 CONSIDER Approval of Delegation and Indemnity Agreement with NCSBA as recommended by the Finance Committee

4.10 CONSIDER Approval of New Participant District Agreement (with permission for Superintendent to approve) as recommended by the Personnel Committee

4.11 CONSIDER Approval of Policy 3450 (Second Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee


5. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Curriculum Committee Report – Judy Musgrave

6. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Personnel Committee Report – Donna Vann

6.01 CONSIDER Approval of negotiating Salary Study Request for Proposal


Motion to approve made by Donna Vann, seconded by Carrie Sutton. The motion passed unanimously by the board.

7. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Auxiliary Services Committee Report

8. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Student Services Committee Report – Susan Williams

9. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Budget Committee Report – Rudy Tatum

10. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Policy Committee Report – Carrie Sutton

11. DISCUSSION AGENDA: Legislative Committee Report – Greg West


12.01 CONSIDER Nominations for 2017 Chairman

Chairman Susan Williams opened the floor for nominations for 2017 Chairman.

Alicia Chisolm nominated Carrie Sutton, Rudy Tatum nominated Greg West. With no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Discussion followed: Ms. Sutton shared her concern that the previous history shows the Vice Chair moving into the Chair position and questioned the decision of the board members to change the policy/practice now thus creating a divide among the board. Alicia Chisolm, Judy Musgrave, and Porcha McMillan shared concerns.

Mr. West and Mrs. Williams asked Mr. Phillips for clarification on whether the chairmanship election is a ‘policy’. Mr. Phillips clarified that there is no policy to dictate the chair and vice chair nominations/appointments.

Voting for Ms. Sutton was Judy Musgrave, Alicia Chisolm, Porcha McMillan and Carrie Sutton

Voting for Mr. West was Donna Vann, Susan Williams, Rudy Tatum, Peggy Hall and Greg West.

Mr. West was elected 2017 Board Chair.

12.02 CONSIDER Nominations for 2017 Vice-Chairman

Chairman Susan Williams opened the floor for nominations for 2017 Vice-Chairman.

Greg West nominated Donna Vann for 2017 Vice Chairman. With no other nominations, the nominations were closed.

Voting in favor of Mrs. Vann was Greg West, Susan Williams, Rudy Tatum, Peggy Hall and Donna Vann. Opposing were Carrie Sutton, Porcha McMillan, and Alicia Chisolm. Judy Musgrave was not in the room to vote.

Mrs. Vann was elected 2017 Board Vice-Chairman.


13.01 SPECIAL RECOGNITION of 2016 Vice Chairman, Carrie Sutton and 2016 Chairman, Susan Williams

A certificate was presented to Carrie Sutton in appreciation for her term as 2016 Board Vice-Chairman


A gavel plaque was presented to Susan Williams in appreciation for her term as 2016 Board Chairman

Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till expressed his pride in the positive events happening around CCS. As an example, 500 computers were given away last weekend to students without computers to use in their homes.

Plans are in place to have a meeting with legislators sometime in January.

Chairman’s Update:

Mrs. Williams thanked our student officers for sharing their time and attention with us tonight and hopes to see everyone again at our January 10th meeting.

She thanked everyone for attending this evening and expressed her thanks for the support she received as chairman during 2016.

Mrs. Williams wished everyone safe and happy holidays.


With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:58 pm.                                                              

Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias