Board Action: November 22, 2016
Published by Laurie Pender on November 23, 2016

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

November 22, 2016 

Administrative Recommendations Approved
Assistant Principals
E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary               Pamela McAllister
Westover Middle                                            Philip Boayue

Central Services
EC Literacy Consultant                                 Laura Dendy

One-Time Supplemental Bonus Gets ‘OK’
The Board approved a one-time local supplemental bonus of $200 for eligible classified and administrative personnel at schools that did not meet or exceed growth expectations and were therefore not eligible for the state-based merit bonus.  This one-time bonus will be paid in December 2016 for eligible staff employed in a position of 50% or higher. The amount of the bonus awarded will not be added to the employee’s ongoing base salary and will not be considered compensation for retirement purposes. Employees with an average rating of “at standard/proficient” or higher on their most recent evaluation are eligible.  Employees placed on an action/monitored/directed plan during the 2015-2016 school year are not eligible.  

Board Approves School Improvement Plans
The nine-member Board approved the completed School Improvement Plans for the district’s 86 schools. The School Improvement Plan helps guide the mission of the school as it affects student achievement, school climate, personnel, and overall school performance.

Plans for the County’s 11 low-performing schools were accepted as well. The Plans, which focus on overall school improvement and all facets of student instruction, will be reviewed by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. The involvement of Central Services in each school’s goals and objectives are also included.

Proclamations, A Resolution Get Board Support
Members of the Board approved the following proclamations and resolution for the Cumberland County School system:

  • Cumberland County Schools’ Career Development Month Proclamation (November 1 – 30) and
  • Career & Technical Education Facilitator Day (November 16)
  • Cumberland County Schools’ School Psychology Awareness Week Proclamation (November 14 – 18)
  • 2016 North Carolina American Indian Heritage Month Proclamation (November 1 – 30)
  • Cumberland County Schools’ Reading Rocks! for Literacy Day Resolution (December 7)

Years of Service Applauded

Board Members Macky Hall and Dr. James McLauchlin were recognized by the Board with special plaques of honor for their numerous years of service. Neither member chose to run for re-election. Hall has served 24 years, while Dr. McLauchlin has sat on the Board 8 years.

Board of Education

Susan Williams
District #5

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Greg West

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Dr. James McLauchlin
District #2

Donna Vann
District #4

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Student Government leaders Triniti Daniels from South View High School and Dora Wilson from Reid Ross Classical High School served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support Services, introduced to the Board the following individuals/groups:

Amazing Acts of Character honoree LaZyia Payton from Seventy-First Classical Middle School – The eighth grader was chosen because of the bravery and maturity she displayed during a school bus fire on Sept. 14 in west Fayetteville. The 14-year-old helped her bus driver evacuate her schoolmates safely from the bus and comforted those who were upset.

Members of the Board extended personal congratulations to LaZyia.

Beaver Dam Elementary School and District 7 Elementary School – Both schools were recognized on Oct. 27 during the North Carolina Association of Compensatory Educators Conference in Greensboro as 2016 Title 1 Distinguished School Nominees.

Cumberland International Early College High School, Cross Creek Early College High School, Reid Ross High School and Cumberland Polytechnic High School  – The four high schools were recently recognized by State Superintendent Dr. June Atkinson for achieving a 100% graduation rate.



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias