Board Action: June 14, 2016
Published by Bobbi Jo Pova on June 15, 2016

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

June 14, 2016 


Administrative Recommendations Approved

C. Wayne Collier Elementary                    Ann-Marie Palmer
Gray’s Creek High                                        Lisa Stewart
Howard Hall Elementary                           Rose Ferguson
District 7 Elementary                                  Cathryn Helms
Gray’s Creek Middle                                    Mark Pepper
Warrenwood Elementary                           Margaret Goodwin
William H. Owen Elementary                   Gemette McEachern

Assistant Principal
Anne Chesnutt Middle                               David Green


Board Approves Name Changes/Adoptions
The nine-member Board approved the following name changes/adoptions to facilities throughout the Cumberland County School system:

Walking Track at Gray’s Creek Elementary School to
The Cal Violette Community Walking Track

Gymnasium at Pine Forest Middle School to
Jim Farthing Gymnasium

Renaming Howard Health & Life Sciences Building to
Howard Learning Academy

Program Partnership to Prevent Teen Pregnancy

The Board signed a memorandum of agreement to become one of two implementing partners in the North Carolina Youth Connected (NCYC): A Surround Sound Approach to Teen Pregnancy Prevention in High-Need Communities. The project is geared toward developing and implementing community-wide plans to prevent teen pregnancy and achieve a significant reduction in teen birth rates in select counties. The projected goal is that by 2020, the rate of teen births in the CCS will reflect a reduction of at least 50 percent (as compared to 2013). The project is a five-year cooperative agreement funded by the Office of Adolescent Health. NCYC is a collaborative partnership between high-need counties and SHIFT NC. 

Board of Education

Susan Williams
District #5

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Greg West

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Dr. James McLauchlin
District #2

Donna Vann
District #4

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till

Get Real Curriculum Gets ‘Thumbs Up’
Get Real: Comprehensive Sex Education That Works received the approval of the Board. The middle school program delivers accurate, age-appropriate information and emphasizes healthy relationship skills and family involvement over the course of 27 classroom lessons. The Get Real curriculum empowers parents to communicate their morals and values about sexual health and staying healthy. Each lesson has a take-home family activity to encourage ongoing conversations between students and the trusting adults in their lives.
Research has shown that among students who received Get Real, 16 percent fewer boys and 15 percent fewer girls had sex compared to their peers who did not receive Get Real. Boys and girls who received Get Real increased their negotiation skills and left the 8th grade more equipped to communicate within relationships about delaying sex or setting boundaries. There were 489 documented teen pregnancies in Cumberland County in 2014 (among teens age 15 – 19).

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support, introduced to the Board the following individuals/groups:

Gray’s Creek Middle School Battle of the Books State Championship Team – The following members of the Battle of the Books Team from Gray’s Creek Middle School were presented to the Board for recently being named State Champs: Students Nikolas Ayers, Mastewal Bailey, Nicholas Berry, Kine’ Clark, Anthony Correale, Julia Draughon, Matthew Roberts, Juanita Romero, Theodore Schwamm and Isabella Witherow; Coach Mary Ellen Oxendine; and Parent Volunteers Alice Ann Campbell and John Campbell. According to Jody Hawley, the executive director of CCS’ Information Technology/Media Services, this is the first time a school in the CCS has won the state championship title.

Cumberland County Association of Principals and Assistant Principals (CCAPAP) – Assistant Principal Teresa Warner and members of the CCAPAP Scholarship Committee presented the following 16 local high school graduates as recipients of the 2015-2016 CCAPAP


Pine Forest High                                                         Hunter Jones
Seventy-First High                                                     Lizmarie Ramos
Jack Britt High                                                            Blair Hobbs
South View High                                                         Caleb Edkins
Douglas Byrd High                                                     Mia Jamison
Cape Fear High                                                           Andrew Goncharov
Gray’s Creek High                                                      Derek Esterly
Westover High                                                            Taylor Hicks
Terry Sanford High                                                    Nashmil Islam
E.E. Smith High                                                          Shauntre Lilley
Cross Creek Early College High                               Daria Brown
Cumberland International Early College High    Cedric Craig
Howard Health & Life Sciences High                     Nakaya Melvin
Massey Hill Classical High                                       Christina Larkin
A.B. Wilkins High                                                        Alexis Diaz-Aguilar
Reid Ross Classical High                                           Jocelyn Kearney

The $1,000 scholarship for each student will be used for college expenses.


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias