Board Action: April 12, 2016
Published by Laurie Pender on April 13, 2016

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

April 12, 2016 


Administrative Recommendations Approved
Morganton Road Elementary School        Chad McLamb
Douglas Byrd Middle School                     Meshonda Williams

Assistant Principal
Ashley Elementary School                        Sherrill Hayley

Name Change/Adoption Recommendations Approved
The Board approved the following name changes/adoptions to facilities throughout the Cumberland County Schools (CCS):

Football Field at Armstrong Elementary School to 
David L. Pugh Athletic Complex

Softball Field at Douglas Byrd High School to
Robin Long Softball Field

Media Center at Westarea Elementary School to
Jessie Mae McKenney Media Center

Howard Health & Life Sciences High School to
Cumberland Polytechnic High School

Board Approves Lunch Price Increase
The CCS will see a $0.10 increase in lunch prices next school year. The Board voted to adopt the change per increase requirements as outlined in Section 205 of the “Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010” (Public Law 111-296-December 13, 2010). With the increase, 2016-2017 lunch prices will be as follows:
Grades K-5 (paying)                               $2.05
Grades 6–12 (paying)                             $2.15
All Grades (reduced prices)                    $0.40
Adults                                                      A la carte

National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day Proclamation Accepted
The Board voted to proclaim May 5, 2016, as CCS’ National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day. On this day, the Board resolves and urges all parents and educators to unite in observance of NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Cumberland Harnett & Lee Counties’ National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day Celebration. The Board also resolves that our school system work to address the complex mental health needs of our children, youth and families, which are fundamental to the future of Cumberland County.

Student Government leaders Jordan Houston-Taylor from Massey Hill Classical High School and Cedric Craig from Cumberland International Early College High School served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support, introduced Wells Fargo, N.A., Business Relationship Manager and Assistant Vice President Keith Crumpler, who presented this year’s Wells Fargo Outstanding Educator Awards. The award recipients were as follows: Elementary Teacher Award – Brittany Horne from Cumberland Road Elementary School; Secondary Teacher Award – Tatum Weaver from Cumberland International Early College High School; and Administrator Award – Todd Yardis from Ed V. Baldwin Elementary School. The awards are designed to assist educators who want to bring an innovative idea to life.

Musselwhite also recognized March’s ‘Amazing Acts of Character’ honoree Kody Morkrid from E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary School. The third grader was chosen from individual school

nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character’ above and beyond expected behavior. Members of the Board extended personal congratulations to Kody.


Board of Education

Susan Williams
District #5

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Greg West

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Dr. James McLauchlin
District #2

Donna Vann
District #4

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias