Board Minutes – 12.8.15
Published by Laurie Pender on January 13, 2016

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
December 8, 2015

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, December 8, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: James McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Carrie Sutton, Macky Hall, Judy Musgrave, Donna Vann, Greg West and Rudy Tatum. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Clyde Locklear, Allison Violette, Ruben Reyes and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; media representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative, representatives of the NCAEOP and representatives of the teacher assistants association.  

Chairman James McLauchlin called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Donna Vann, followed by the invocation by James McLauchlin.

The Board heard from five speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Christine Harris                                  Carmela McKeller-Smith
Troy Jackson                                        Emilie Davenport
Ryan Manley


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Hali Reese, Student Government representative from Pine Forest High School and Emerald Pridget, Student Government Representative from Westover High School. Hali and Emerald were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following student for Amazing Acts of Character:
Christian Figueredo – Seventy-First High School

The Board RECOGNIZED Cumberland County Manager, Amy Cannon. Ms. Cannon provided the Board and citizens attending the meeting with an extensive report on the Local Sales Tax Distribution Agreement.

Following Ms. Cannon’s report, Carrie Sutton made a motion, seconded by Judy Musgrave, to write a RESOLUTION in support of the county’s efforts. The motion passed unanimously by the Board.

Chairman James McLauchlin called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA. 

Upon motion by Susan Williams, seconded by Donna Vann, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board.

a)         CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the November 10, 2015 Board Meeting

b)         CONSIDER Approval of Personnel as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

c)         CONSIDER Approval of Leave of Absence and Special Leave of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

d)         CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

e)         CONSIDER Approval of Interlocal Agreement with FTCC to use Mae Rudd Williams as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

f)         CONSIDER Approval of Request for Conveyance of School Property to construct an Aquatic Center at College Lakes Elementary as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

g)         CONSIDER Approval of the Public Health School Nurse Contract as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 

h)         CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee 

i)         CONSIDER Approval of Bid for Mobile Computer Carts as recommended by the Finance Committee 

j)         CONSIDER Approval of Revised / New Policies (Second Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee



No discussion – all items on the CONSENT AGENDA



Upon a motion by Susan Williams, seconded by Carrie Sutton, the Board voted unanimously to elect Greg West to serve on the 2016-2017 NCSBA Legislative Committee.

Chairman James McLauchlin declared the floor open for nominations for 2016 Board Chairman.  Rudy Tatum nominated Susan Williams, seconded by Carrie Sutton.  With no other nominations, SUSAN WILLIAMS was elected CHAIRMAN for 2016 by acclamation.

James McLauchlin opened the floor for nominations for 2016 Vice Chair.  Judy Musgrave nominated Carrie Sutton, seconded by Susan Williams.  With no other nominations CARRIE SUTTON was elected VICE-CHAIR for 2016 by acclamation.



Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till thanked our Technology Department for another successful ‘computer giveaway’ this past Saturday. He also thanked Lowes for their $10,000.00 donation to the program.

Dr. Till informed the board of the Community Meetings planned for January and February.

Dr. Till thanked Dr. McLauchlin for his service as 2015 Board Chairman.

At this time, Dr. McLauchlin invited Carrie Sutton to the podium.

On behalf of the board, Ms. Sutton presented Susan Williams with a certificate of appreciation for her service to the board as Vice-Chairman for 2015.

On behalf of the board, Ms. Sutton then presented Dr. McLauchlin with a gavel plaque in appreciation for his service as 2015 Chairman.

Chairman’s Update:

Dr. McLauchlin shared his appreciation for his time as Chairman. He receives much joy from working with students of all ages and acknowledges his service on the Board of Education as a privilege. Dr. McLauchlin thanked our student officers for their attendance and input at tonight’s meeting. He reminded everyone of school / office closures for the winter break.

After thanking everyone for attending tonight’s meeting, Dr. McLauchlin adjourned the meeting at 7:45 pm.


Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias