Board Minutes – 11.10.15
Published by Bobbi Jo Pova on December 7, 2015

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
November 10, 2015

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: James McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Donna Vann, Carrie Sutton, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum, Alicia Chisolm and Macky Hall. (Mr. West was not in attendance tonight) Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Allison Violette, Ron Phipps, Betty Musselwhite, Ruben Reyes, Clyde Locklear and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; media representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative, NCAEOP representatives and representatives of the CCATA.  

Chairman James McLauchlin called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Susan Williams, followed by the invocation from Rudy Tatum.

The Board heard from two speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Carmella McKeller-Smith
Katrina Hays

The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Caleb Edkins, Student Government representative from South View High School and Jocelyn Kearney, Student Government Representative from Reid Ross School. Caleb and Jocelyn were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED High Schools with the Highest 4-Year Cohort Graduation Rate:
Reid Ross, Howard Health and Life Sciences, Cross Creek Early College, and Cumberland International Early College

The Board RECOGNIZED Ms. Jearline Bunnells, staff member at Ponderosa Elementary, for her life-saving action when she noticed a student choking on his lunch.

The Board RECOGNIZED South View High School staff members Linda Cusi, Shirley Maldonado, Larry Bradford, Ashley Westbrook, Angela Lamar, Chad Barbour and Morgan Odom for their exceptional teamwork and quick action when a student was in anaphylactic shock.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Donald Kunkel – C. Wayne Collier Elementary School
Joshua Holston  – Reid Ross Classical (award accepted on his behalf by his Guidance Counselor)


Chairman James McLauchlin called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA

Upon motion by Macky Hall, seconded by Carrie Sutton, the following CONSENT AGENDA items were approved unanimously by the Board members present:

3.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the October 13, 2015 Board Meeting

3.02 CONSIDER Release of Certain Students

3.03 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel as Recommended by the Personnel Committee 

3.04 CONSIDER Approval of Leave of Absence Requests as Recommended by the Personnel Committee 

3.05 CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendations as Recommended by the Personnel Committee 

3.06 CONSIDER Approval of Low Performing Schools Plan as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

3.07 CONSIDER Approval of Lottery Applications as recommended by the Finance Committee 

3.08 CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee 

3.09 CONSIDER Approval of Revised / New Policies (First Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee 



DISCUSSION AGENDA: Curriculum Committee Report – Judy Musgrave
DISCUSSION AGENDA: Personnel Committee Report – Carrie Sutton
DISCUSSION AGENDA: Auxiliary Services Committee Report – Macky Hall
DISCUSSION AGENDA: Student Services Committee Report – Alicia Chisolm
DISCUSSION AGENDA: Budget Committee Report – Rudy Tatum
DISCUSSION AGENDA: Policy Committee Report – Susan Williams
DISCUSSION AGENDA: Legislative Committee Report – Greg West


CONSIDER Resolution Approving Joining a Lawsuit to Recover Improper Equipment Fees from the State of North Carolina 

Motion to approve made by Carrie Sutton and seconded by Alicia Chisolm. The motion passed unanimously by board members present.


Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till thanked our Veteran’s for their service to our country. He told our student ex-officio officers that he will be happy to meet with the Student Government groups. He advised them to call Ms. Horne to set up a time.

Chairman’s Update:

Dr. McLauchlin again recognized our student ex-officio officers and thanked them for their input. He expressed appreciation to everyone for attending tonight and invited them to return again next month. Dr. McLauchlin shared upcoming dates of school and office closing (Veteran’s Day and Thanksgiving)

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias