Board Minutes: 4.14.15
Published by Laurie Pender on May 13, 2015

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
April 14, 2015

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, April 14, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: James McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Carrie Sutton, Greg West, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum,  Donna Vann and Macky Hall. (Mrs. Chisolm was not in attendance tonight) Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Ron Phipps, Ricky Lopes, Allison Violette, Joseph Locklear and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; media representative, Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative and representatives of the teacher assistants association.  

Chairman James McLauchlin called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Greg West, followed by the invocation from Carrie Sutton.

The Board heard from no speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Jonas Vanaman, Student Government representative from Wilkins High School and Ashley Lee, Student Government Representative from Reid Ross High School. Jonas and Ashley were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following schools State Champion Student Athletes:

Individual State Champions Indoor Track & Field Winners

Pine Forest High School – Ryan Davis

Jack Britt High School – Darryl Shaw

Terry Sanford High School – Jakwon Higgins, Jakwon Higgins, Luis Remigio, Kalin Moore and William Wicks

Jack Britt High School – 2015 State Champion Team Wrestlers

Byran Bryant, Lamontico Melvin, Paul Garcia, Jovaun Johnson, Luke Roberson, Wesley Hollingsworth, Nicky White, Marcellino Aponte III, Joseph Stevenson, Brandon Stern Michael Vernagallo, Bradley Wanovich and Richard Tolston III

Terry Sanford High School – 2015 State Men’s Basketball Champions

Tre Sidbury-Williams, Telligence Johnson, Justin King, Shamon Elliott, Isaiah Stallings, Anthony Stokes, Malik Johnson, Logan Hales, Johnny Hughes, Randy Finch, Paris Black, Joseph Riddle, Mark Gilbert

Because of the death earlier today of South View High School Coach Randy Ledford, recognition of the South View High School Indoor Track & Field Team as the 2015 State Champions was postponed. Even so, those attending the Board meeting paused for a moment of silence in remembrance of Coach Ledford.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Madelyn Hoffhines – Honeycutt Elementary School
Ahzsa Strange – Reid Ross Classical (not in attendance)

Chairman James McLauchlin called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA

Upon motion by Carrie Sutton, seconded by Susan Williams, the following CONSENT AGENDA items were approved unanimously by the Board members present:

a) Approval of the Minutes of the March 10, 2015 Board Meeting

b) Release of Certain Students 

c) Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

d) Approval of Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

e) Approval of the Interlocal Agreement with the City of Fayetteville regarding use of CCS Facilities as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

f) Approval of Revised Bell Times for 2015-2016 School Year (Committee chose option 3 – NO CHANGE) as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee  **Exception: Howard Health and Life Sciences High School student arrival time was approved to change to 7:30 a.m. in order to coincide with the start time of classes at FTCC**

g) Approval of the Teacher Recruitment Incentive Bonus as recommended by the Personnel Committee

h) Approval of the April 2015 Child Abuse Prevention Month Proclamation as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 

i) Approval of the Administrative Recommendation naming Dr. Julie Dees as principal of Glendale Acres Elementary School 



All committee items were on the Consent Agenda with the exception of the following item from the Finance Committee:

Carrie Sutton made a motion to approve the AGREEMENT BETWEEN NC DEPT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION AND CUMBERLAND COUNTY BOE FOR THE PURPOSE OF FACILITATING THE MEDICAID ADMINISTRATIVE CLAIMING (MAC) as presented by Mr. Ricky Lopes. Susan Williams seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously by the Board members present. 



Board Chairman McLauchlin made a motion to go into Closed Session Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3) to consult with our attorney in order to preserve the attorney-client privilege between our attorney and this Board. The motion was seconded by Susan Williams and approved unanimously by the board members present.

Greg West made a motion to come out of Closed Session. The motion was seconded by Carrie Sutton and approved unanimously by the board members present.

Chairman McLauchlin announced no action was taken in Closed Session.


Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till shared that legislative work continues. He asked for a consensus from our board regarding HB 324. Our board agreed to oppose HB 324 and any attempt to make our Board of Education Elections partisan.

Chairman’s Update:

Dr. McLauchlin congratulated our many students recognized this evening and thanked everyone for their attendance tonight. With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 7:20 p.m.


Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias