Board Action – May 12, 2015
Published by Laurie Pender on May 13, 2015

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

May 12, 2015 


Administrative Recommendations Approved
Sherwood Park Elementary              Melvetta Wright
John Griffin Middle                             George Thomas Dent
Stedman Primary                                April Thomas
Terry Sanford High                             Robert Guzman

Assistant Principal
South View High                                James A. Blue

Calendar Revisions Approved for Special High Schools

The Board approved revisions to the 2015-2016 Calendar for Alger B. Wilkins, Cross Creek Early College, Cumberland International, and Howard Health and Life Sciences high schools. The approved revisions are as follows:

For A.B. Wilkins, CCECHS & CIECHS

  • Changing December 18, 2015, to a student school day early release
  • Changing the last day of school to May 20, 2016
  • Changing May 23, 2016, to a required teacher work day
  • Changing May 24, 2016, to an optional teacher work day

Overall, the changes will result in a 215-work year for teachers while giving the schools two work days at the end of the school year instead of one. Also, the revision aligns with the last student day of school, as seen on the HHLSHS calendar.


  • Changing December 18, 2015, to a student school day early release
  • Changing January 4, 2016, to an optional teacher workday

Overall, the above changes shift one work day to give the school a work day at the beginning of the second semester instead of the day before winter break.

Student Code of Conduct Revisions Get ‘Thumbs Up’

The Board approved several revisions to the 2015-2016 Student Code of Conduct. A few of the changes include:

  • Adding Communicating Threats of Mass Violence;
  • Clarifying Sexual Assault and Sexual Battery; and
  • Replacing the word “appeal” with “review,” as it pertains to disciplinary decisions.

Board Approves Preliminary Budget for Fiscal Year (FY) 2016

The Board approved the preliminary budget presented during a May 5 meeting. The following highlights regarding state and local funding were discussed:


  • Average daily membership decreases in FY 2015 (1,222 students) is fully reflected in the budget.
  • Unless action is taken during the upcoming legislative session, the drivers’ education program will be locally funded.


  • The fund balance appropriated is decreased by $5.6 million
  • County appropriation will increase.
  • Decrease locally funded teachers by 100.


During the meeting, Fayetteville-Cumberland Youth Council members Jordan Burstion and Troy Nance served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education. As ex-officio members, the student leaders are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Dr. Mary Black, the associate superintendent of CCS’ Student Support Services, introduced ‘Amazing Acts of Character’ honorees Ronald Foust from E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary School, Angelize Leon from Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary School, and Aurora Collins from New Century International Middle School. The three students were chosen from individual school nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character’ above and beyond expected behavior. Personal congratulations were extended to Ronald, Angelize and Aurora from each member of the Board.

Dr. Black also introduced CCS’ Director of Student Activities Leon Mack, who presented to the Board the following outstanding student athletes and coaches from South View High School’s

Indoor Track & Field Team – 2015 State Champions: Chris Burns, Nick Smith, Ivan Anderson, Mason Washington, Elvis Gordon, Gary Ayres, Javier Alejandro (3,200-meter relay individual champion), Michael Staples (3,200-meter relay individual champion), Christian Cortazar (3,200-meter relay individual champion and was awarded the NCHSAA 4A Indoor Track Field Sportsmanship Award), and Philip Hall (Individual State Champion in 1,000-, 1,600-, 3,200-meter runs, was the 3,200-Meter Relay State Champion, was named State Championship MVP, and recently won the Outdoor 4A State Championship in the 1,600- and 3,200-Meter Race) and Coaches Jesse L. Autry, Derek Workman, Aaron Holmes, and Brian Montgomery.


Board of Education

Dr. James McLauchlin
District #2

Susan Williams
District #5

Greg West

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Donna Vann
District #4

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias