Board Action – April 14, 2015
Published by Laurie Pender on April 15, 2015

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

April 14, 2015 


Administrative Recommendation Approved
Glendale Acres Elementary                Dr. Julie Dees

Partnership Renewed 
The Cumberland County Schools and Fayetteville-Cumberland Parks and Recreation renewed their long-standing partnership regarding joint-use facilities throughout the school district.

One School Faces Revised Bell Time for 2015-2016 SY
The Board approved the bell time change for Howard Health and Life Sciences High School regarding student arrival. During the 2015-2016 SY, student arrival will be at 7:30 a.m. in order to coincide with the start time of classes at Fayetteville Technical Community College, which begin at 8:00 a.m.

Teacher Recruitment Incentive Approved
The Board approved the appropriation of funds that will allow the CCS’ Human Resources Department to hire up to a maximum of 20 new-hire licensed teachers (areas of exceptional children, math and science) through a recruitment initiative that offers incentive sign-on bonuses. A sign-on bonus of $5,000 for a three-year commitment to the CCS will be offered. Teachers who accept the commitment will receive $1,000 with the first pay period and $2,000 at the end of the year. The remaining incentive funds will be disseminated at a rate of $1,000 at the end of each subsequent two years with the requirement that their students make academic growth as indicated in EVAAS. Bonus recipients, who prematurely leave the school system, will be required to make full repayment of all incentives funds. 

Local Opposition Comes Against Possible Legislation  Making School Boards Partisan
Members of the nine-member Board agreed to oppose HB 324 and any attempt to make Board of Education Elections partisan.  

Board Accepts Child Abuse Prevention Month Proclamation
The Board pledged its support in proclaiming April 2015 as Child Abuse Prevention Month in the Cumberland County Schools. Through the proclamation, the Board acknowledges and “calls upon all educators and citizens to participate in our efforts to protect children, support families, and thereby help prevent child abuse.”


During the meeting, Student Government Association leaders Ashley Lee from Reid Ross Classical High School and Jonas Vanaman from Alger B. Wilkins High School served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education. As ex-officio members, the student leaders are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Dr. Mary Black, the associate superintendent of CCS’ Student Support Services, introduced ‘Amazing Acts of Character’ honorees Madelyn Hoffhines from E. Melvin Honeycutt Elementary School and Ahzsa Strange from Reid Ross Classical High School. They were chosen from individual school nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character’ above and beyond the expected behavior. Personal congratulations were extended to Madelyn from each member of the Board. Ahzsa was unable to attend the meeting.

Dr. Black introduced CCS’ Director of Student Activities Leon Mack, who presented to the Board the following outstanding student athletes and coaches:

Individual State Champions Indoor Track & Field Winners 
Pine Forest High School – Ryan Davis (2nd consecutive 4A Shot Put State Title),  Jack Britt High School – Darryl Shaw (4A Triple Jump State Title), Terry Sanford High School – Jakwon Higgins (3A 300-Meter Dash State Title) and Jakwon Higgins, Luis Remigio, Kalin Moore and William Wicks (3A 4 By 200 Meter Relay State Title) 

Jack Britt High School – 2015 State Champion Team Wrestlers
Byran Bryant, Lamontico Melvin, Paul Garcia, Jovaun Johnson, Luke Roberson, Wesley Hollingsworth, Nicky White, Marcellino Aponte III, Joseph Stevenson, Brandon Stern (Individual State Runner-Up at 145 lbs.), Michael Vernagallo (Individual State Runner-Up at 120 lbs.), Bradley Wanovich (Individual Tournament State Champion at 113 lbs.) and Richard Tolston III (Individual State Champion at 126 lbs.; three time state champion, Cumberland County’ s first three-time state wrestling champion), and Coaches John Deweese, Tim Bright and Kyle Narburgh

Terry Sanford High School – 2015 State Men’s Basketball Champions
Tre Sidbury-Williams, Telligence Johnson, Justin King, Shamon Elliott, Isaiah Stallings, Anthony Stokes, Malik Johnson, Logan Hales, Johnny Hughes, Randy Finch, Paris Black, Joseph Riddle (State Championship Sportsmanship Award and Most Outstanding Player), Mark Gilbert (State Championship Most Valuable Player), and Coaches Bill Boyette, Doug Ginn, Bucky Brown and Josh Hayes

Because of the death earlier today of South View High School Coach Randy Ledford, recognition of the South View High School Indoor Track & Field Team as the 2015 State Champions was postponed. Even so, those attending the Board meeting paused for a moment of silence in remembrance of Coach Ledford.


Board of Education

Dr. James McLauchlin
District #2

Susan Williams
District #5

Greg West

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Donna Vann
District #4

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias