Board Minutes – 2.10.15
Published by Laurie Pender on March 11, 2015

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
February 10, 2015

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, February 10, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: James McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Carrie Sutton, Greg West, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum, Alicia Chisolm, Donna Vann and Macky Hall. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Ron Phipps, Ricky Lopes, Allison Violette, Joseph Locklear and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; media representative, Ft. Bragg representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative and representatives of the teacher assistants association.

Chairman James McLauchlin called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Macky Hall, followed by the invocation by Susan Williams.

The Honorable Talmage Baggett administered the Oath of Office to newly appointed board member, Donna Vann.

The Board heard from no speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting.


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Dorian Wright, Student Government representative from E.E. Smith High School and Savanah Stevenson, Student Government Representative from Jack Britt High School. Dorian and Savannah were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following educators as recipients of the Wells Fargo, N.A. Outstanding Educator Award Winners presented by Mr. Keith Crumpler representing Wells Fargo:

Dr. Crystal Brown – Ben Martin Elementary School
Ms. Nisi Farley – Ponderosa Elementary School
Ms. Andrea Burns – Anne Chesnutt Middle School

The Board RECOGNIZED and applauded the quick action of Ms. Shirley Perry, employee of Southview Middle School. Ms. Perry helped to dislodge a piece of candy from the throat of a choking child.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following student for Amazing Acts of Character:

Garrett Siroris – Gray’s Creek Middle

Chairman James McLauchlin called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA

Upon motion by Greg West, seconded by Susan Williams, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board.

a) Approval of the Minutes of the January 13, 2015 Board Meeting

b) Release of Certain Students 

c) Approval of Alternative Schools Accountability Model as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

d) Approval of Career and Technical Education Month Proclamation as recommended by the Curriculum Committee 

e) Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

f) Approval of Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

g) Approval of Agreement with NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources to install and maintain air quality and meteorological monitoring equipment by Honeycutt Elementary School as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

h) Approval of 2015 School Social Work Month Proclamation as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 

i) Approval of Policy 4201/7271 Injury and Loss Prevention (First Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee



All committee items were on the Consent Agenda. Mr. West added that our board had a good meeting with our county commissioners and legislative delegation yesterday (February 9, 2015). We hope our concerns were heard and progress will be made to better support the financial needs of Cumberland County Schools.



Superintendent’s Update:
Dr. Till echoed the comments shared by Mr. West regarding our February 9th delegation meeting. Dr. Till also congratulated the JBHS wrestling team for winning the state wrestling championship. The team will be presented and congratulated at a future board meeting.

Chairman’s Update:
Dr. McLauchlin welcomed Mrs. Vann to the board and thanked everyone for their attendance tonight. He gave a special thank you on behalf of the board to the CCATA for the reception this evening. With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m.


Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias