Board Minutes – 1.13.15
Published by Laurie Pender on February 11, 2015

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
January 13, 2015


The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, January 13, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: James McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Carrie Sutton, Greg West, Judy Musgrave, Rudy Tatum, Alicia Chisolm and Macky Hall. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Ron Phipps, Ricky Lopes, Allison Violette, Joseph Locklear and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; media representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative and representatives of the teacher assistants association.  


Chairman James McLauchlin called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Rudy Tatum, followed by the invocation by Alicia Chisolm.


The Board heard from two speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Joseph Sorce – representing CCAE
Latonica McDonald – representing CCAPAP




The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Kristel Black, Student Government representative from Gray’s Creek High School and Marcus Battle, Student Government Representative from Seventy-First High School. Kristel and Marcus were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.


The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Josiah Boyd – Lake Rim Elementary
Raul Ciriaco Cantoran – Gray’s Creek Middle

Chairman James McLauchlin called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA


Upon motion by Carrie Sutton, seconded by Greg West, the following Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously by the Board.

a) CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the December 9, 2014 Board Meeting

b) CONSIDER Approval of Option Agreement to purchase property located on Elliot Bridge Road as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

c) CONSIDER Granting a Utility Easement to South River Electric for Howard Hall Elementary as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee 

d) CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee 

e) CONSIDER Approval of 2015 National School Counseling Week Proclamation as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 

f) CONSIDER Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

g) CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

h) CONSIDER Approval of Special Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee 





CONSIDER Approval of Final Differentiated Pay Proposal as presented by Dr. Joseph Locklear

Carrie Sutton expressed that she was not happy with the proposal; however, she did not want to turn down money for our teachers. Ricky Lopes added that although submitting the proposal is no guarantee of receiving the money; without the proposal we stand no chance of receiving it.

Upon a motion by Greg West, seconded by Susan Williams, the motion passed unanimously. 




CONSIDER Appointment to fill board vacancy representing district four (Unexpired term of Larry Lancaster)

Chairman James McLauchlin opened the floor for nominations. Alicia Chisolm nominated Candidate Nolan Hancock. Rudy Tatum nominated Candidate Donna Vann. With no additional nominations Chairman McLauchlin called for a motion to close nominations. Susan Williams made a motion, seconded by Greg West to close the nominations. The motion to close nominations passed unanimously.

Chairman James McLauchlin called for a vote.

Board members Alicia Chisolm, Carrie Sutton and Judy Musgrave voted in favor of nominating Mr. Nolan Hancock. Board members Greg West, Susan Williams, James McLauchlin, Rudy Tatum and Macky Hall voted in favor of nominating Mrs. Donna Vann. By majority vote, Mrs. Donna Vann was nominated to fill the unexpired term of Larry Lancaster representing district 4.






Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till shared with the board the vision statement ‘North Carolina’s Guide to Strengthening Our Public Schools’ was presented at the Capitol today. The vision statement is a document prepared with input from school superintendents across North Carolina. All Superintendents are unified in agreement of this vision plan.

Dr. Till reminded the board of our Retreat to be held on January 29th and the Delegation Breakfast on February 9th.

Chairman’s Update:

Dr. McLauchlin congratulated Mrs. Vann on her appointment to the board and thanked everyone for their attendance tonight. 

He reminded everyone that schools and offices will be closed on Monday, January 19th in observance of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday.


Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias