Board Action – February 10, 2015
Published by Laurie Pender on February 11, 2015

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education
Regular Meeting

February 10, 2015 


New Board Member Takes Oath of Office
Newly selected Board member and long-time educator Donna Vann took the oath of office, while her family members, friends and supporters watched. The oath was given by the Honorable Talmage Baggett. Vann is filling the unexpired term of former Board member Larry Lancaster, who was recently elected as a Cumberland County Commissioner. She will serve two years.

Board Embraces Two Proclamations
The Board pledged its support in proclaiming the following:

February 1 – 28, 2015, as Career and Technical Education (CTE) Month in the Cumberland County Schools. As stated in the proclamation, the Board will “urge all citizens to become familiar with the services and benefits offered by the career and technical education programs in this community and to support and participate in these programs to enhance their [students’] individual work skills and productivity.”

March 2 – 6, 2015, as School Social Work Week in the Cumberland County Schools. Through the proclamation, the Board acknowledges that school social workers “offer essential services to promote the maximum development of all students by prevention and alleviation of problems that interfere with the tasks of learning through knowledge of human behavior, social systems and social work skills…”

Student government leaders Dorian Wright from E.E. Smith High School and Savannah Stevenson from Jack Britt High School served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Dr. Mary Black, the associate superintendent of CCS’ Student Support Services, introduced Wells Fargo, N.A., Assistant Vice President and Business Banking Relationship Manager Keith Crumpler, who presented this year’s Wells Fargo Outstanding Educator Awards. The award recipients were as follows: Elementary Teacher Award – Nisi Farley from Ponderosa Elementary School; Secondary Teacher Award – Andrea Burns from Anne Chesnutt Middle School; and Administrator Award – Dr. Crystal Brown from Ben Martin Elementary School. The awards are designed to assist educators who want to bring an innovative idea to life.

Dr. Black also recognized the following:

  • ‘Amazing Acts of Character’ Honoree Garrett Sirois — The Gray’s Creek Middle School student was chosen from individual school nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character.’ Personal congratulations were extended to Garrett from each member of the Board.
  • South View Middle School Custodian Shirley Perry — On December 15 in the school hallway, Perry used the Heimlich maneuver and several swift back thrusts to save a student who was choking on a piece of candy.
  • CCS’ Superintendent Dr. Frank Till — Governor Pat McCrory recently recognized Dr. Till with a special Certificate of Appreciation for his “dedication and outstanding service to North Carolina through his advocacy, leadership and commitment to children.”

Special Funding Meeting of the CCBOE Held Feb. 9
Members of the Cumberland County Board of Education, Cumberland County Board of Commissioners and Cumberland County Legislative Delegation met Feb. 9 at ERC to discuss funding needs before a new session of the N.C. General Assembly gets underway. The legislators were asked by school administrators to return to Raleigh advocating the following: (1) revising the low-wealth school-funding formula; (2) fully funding state-mandated education programs like driver’s education; (3) reinstating lottery funding for school capital needs; and (4) opposing the shift of school bus replacement costs from the state onto counties.


Board of Education

Dr. James McLauchlin
District #2

Susan Williams
District #5

Greg West

Judy Musgrave

Rudy Tatum

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Donna Vann
District #4

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias