Board Minutes – 12.9.14
Published by Laurie Pender on January 14, 2015

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
December 9, 2014

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, December 9, 2014 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Greg West, James McLauchlin, Carrie Sutton, Susan Williams, Alicia Chisolm, Macky Hall, Judy Musgrave and Rudy Tatum. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Ricky Lopes, Allison Violette, and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Commissioners Glenn Adams and Kenneth Edge, media representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative and representatives of the teacher assistants association.  

Chairman Greg West called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by James McLauchlin, followed by the invocation by Greg West.

The Board heard from one speaker during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Ms. Aundrea Johnson (on behalf of the CCSATA)


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Matthew Mullins, Student Government representative from Westover High School and Kirby Rose, Student Government Representative from Pine Forest High School. Matthew and Kirby were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Jayden Davis – Walker-Spivey Elementary
Donavan Ross – Massey Hill High


Hailey Napier – Glendale Acres, Jayla Cobb – Glendale Acres, Treasure Martin – Ben Martin, Tucker Samuelian – Ashley, Caitlin Blank – Mary McArthur, Vivian Yi-Jen – Lake Rim, Dania and Dorian Harriott – Seventy-First High

Chairman Greg West called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA.

Upon motion by Susan Williams, seconded by James McLauchlin, the following Consent Agenda items were approved by unanimously by the Board.

a) Approval of the Minutes of the November 12, 2014 Board Meeting

b) Approval of the ‘Make a Choice Week’ Proclamation as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee

c) Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee



d) Approval of Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

e) Approval of Special Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

f) Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee

g) Approval of Revised / New Policies as recommended by the Policy Committee (Second Reading)





No discussion





Chairman Greg West declared the floor open for nominations for 2015 Board Chairman.  Susan Williams nominated James McLauchlin, seconded by Rudy Tatum.  With no other nominations, JAMES MCLAUCHLIN was elected CHAIRMAN for 2015 by acclamation. Mrs. Chisolm abstained from voting.



Greg West opened the floor for nominations for 2015 Vice Chair.  Greg West nominated Susan Williams, seconded by James McLauchlin.  With no other nominations SUSAN WILLIAMS was elected VICE-CHAIR for 2015 by acclamation. Mrs. Chisolm abstained from voting.




Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till congratulated Dr. McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Judy Musgrave and Rudy Tatum.

Dr. Till shared good news about collections for the local food bank. Our students collected over 37,000 pounds of food and over $4,000.00. The money will purchase 51,000 meals.


At this time, Mr. West invited Dr. McLauchlin to the podium and presented him with a certificate of appreciation for his service to the board as Vice-Chairman for 2014.

On behalf of the board, Dr. McLauchlin then presented Mr. West with a gavel plaque in appreciation for his service as 2014 Chairman.


Chairman’s Update:

Mr. West thanked our student officers for their attendance and input at tonight’s meeting. He welcomed and congratulated our new board members.

Mr. West reminded everyone of school / office closures for the winter break.

After thanking everyone for attending tonight’s meeting, Mr. West adjourned the meeting at 7:05


Frank Till, Superintendent


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias