Board Minutes – 9.9.14
Published by Laurie Pender on October 15, 2014

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
September 9, 2014

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Greg West, James McLauchlin, Larry Lancaster, Carrie Sutton, Susan Williams, Michael Boose Alicia Chisolm and Kim Fisher.  Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Ricky Lopes, Allison Violette, Joseph Locklear and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; media representative, representatives of the principals association, district PTA representative and representatives of the teacher assistants association.

Chairman Greg West called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Greg West, followed by the invocation by James McLauchlin.

The Board heard from one speaker during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Ms. Grace King

Chairman West recognized Mr. Jim Simeon from Sandhills Regional Education Consortium. Mr. Simeon awarded Dr. Till with a plaque for being unanimously chosen as the Superintendent of the Year for the Sandhills Region.


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Alejandro Benitez, Student Government representative from Cumberland International Early College High School and Treasure Butler, Student Government representative from South View High School. Alejandro and Treasure were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

Chairman Greg West called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA.

Upon motion by Larry Lancaster, seconded by Susan Williams, the following Consent Agenda items were approved by unanimously by the Board.

  1. a) CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the August 12, 2014 Board Meeting
  2. b) CONSIDER Release of Certain Students
  3. c) CONSIDER Approval of Resolution in Support of the Celebration of the 175th Anniversary of the Establishment of Public Education in North Carolina as recommended by the Curriculum Committee
  4. d) CONSIDER Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee
  5. e) CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee
  6. f) CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee
  7. g) CONSIDER Approval of the Administrative Hiring/Notification Procedure as recommended by the Personnel Committee
  8. h) CONSIDER Approval of Revised / New Policies (Second Reading)




5.01     Susan Williams made a motion to go into CLOSED SESSION Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 143-318.11(a)(1) to prevent the disclosure of information that is privileged or confidential under N.C.G.S. 115C-319. The motion was seconded by Carrie Sutton and approved unanimously by the board members present. (Macky Hall did not attend tonight’s meeting)

Susan Williams made a motion to come out of CLOSED SESSION. The motion was seconded by Kim Fisher and approved unanimously by the board members present.

5.02     CONSIDER Administrative Recommendation Greg West made a motion, seconded by Michael Boose, to remove this item from the agenda. The motion was unanimously approved by the board members present.



Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till thanked everyone for attending the Teacher of the Year banquet last night. He visited the winner today at her school.

Dr. Till reminded the board that he is continually working on legislative issues and will bring information to the board in a committee meeting soon.

Our enrollment is down and Dr. Till believes our decrease due to a drop in population at Ft. Bragg.


Chairman’s Update:

Mr. West congratulated Myra Dunham for winning 2014-2015 Teacher of the Year.

Mr. West thanked everyone for attending the meeting tonight.


With no further business the meeting adjourned at 7:22 pm.


Frank Till, Superintendent



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias