Board Action – April 15, 2014
Published by Laurie Pender on April 16, 2014

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education 
Regular Meeting

April 15, 2014 


Administrative Recommendations Approved
Executive Director of Information Technology and Media Services
Jody Hawley

Curriculum Specialist, Social Studies
Jonathan Frantz

Assistant Principal
Thomas Fulmore III, Lillian Black Elementary School

Program Specialist, Elementary Mild ID
Valerie Hagans

Board Approves Preserving 440th Airlift Wing
Members of the Board approved a resolution in support of preserving the 440th Airlift Wing. The Board’s resolution contends that the 440th is “a critical component in the high level training and timely deployment of Airborne and Special Operations Forces.” According to the resolution, elimination of the Wing could cause a significant loss of habitual training and readiness capacity as well as impact about 1,600 jobs in the community. In summation, the Board resolved that the Air Force’s budget request be modified to protect the mission-critical impact of the 440th.

Red-Light Camera Legislation Gets ‘Thumbs Up’
The Board approved a resolution supporting Red-Light Camera legislation that would authorize the City of Fayetteville through North Carolina General Statute to operate a traffic control photographic system (the Red-Light Camera Program) in order to increase traffic safety and reduce the demand on public safety officers and emergency personnel. According to Article IX, Sec. 7 of the North Carolina Constitution, “all monies collected from all fines and forfeitures shall be appropriated to the local school boards for the exclusive use of maintaining free public schools.”

Month of the Military Child Proclamation Embraced
A proclamation acknowledging April as the Month of the Military Child was approved. Through this effort, the Military Interstate Children’s Compact Commission (MIC3) along with other organizations, non-profits, and public entities are asking most states and communities to take a day to “Purple Up! For Military Kids” during the week of April 14 – 18. The wearing of purple during this time is a show of support for military kids as well as kudos for their strength and sacrifices.

Baseball Field at Cape Fear High Gets New Name
The Board approved renaming the Cape Fear High School (CFHS) baseball field after the school’s former baseball coach, Terry Jeffrey. He served as the baseball coach, Biology, and physical education teacher at CFHS for 22 years and worked in the local school system for more than 30 years. Terry also led the CFHS Baseball Team to a 3A State Championship in 1994. The school plans to honor him with the renaming of the baseball field during a 20th anniversary/reunion ceremony of the school’s state championship.

Student government leader Jalen Graham from Cross Creek Early College High School served as the ex-officio member of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support, introduced board members from the Community Concerts of Fayetteville, Inc., who made a special presentation to the following groups/individual for their assistance during the Dec. 8 Honor Flight event celebrating World War II Veterans: All-County Band Members (11th and 12th Grade) and Directors; the ROTC programs at Gray’s Creek and Terry Sanford high schools; South View High School Student Government Association; Executive Director of Secondary Education Jane Fields; and Arts Education Supervisor Lydia Stewart.

Musselwhite also introduced March’s ‘Amazing Act of Character’ honoree Rachel Nickelson from Glendale Acres Elementary School. She was chosen from individual school nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character.’ Personal congratulations were extended to Rachel from each member of the Board.


Board of Education

Greg West

James McLauchlin
District #2

Michael Boose

Kim Fisher

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Larry Lancaster
District #4

Susan Williams
District #5

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till


Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances