Board Minutes – December 10, 2013
Published by Laurie Pender on January 15, 2014

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
December 10, 2013

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, December 10, 2013 at 6:30 p.m., in the Central Services Board Room, with the following board members present: Alicia Chisolm, Greg West, Larry Lancaster, Carrie Sutton, Susan Williams, Michael Boose, Kim Fisher, James McLauchlin and Macky Hall.  Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps, Allison Violette, Ricky Lopes, Joseph Locklear and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Executive Director Patricia Hollingsworth; media representative, representatives of the principals association and representatives of the teacher assistants.  

Chairman Alicia Chisolm called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Greg West, followed by the invocation by Alicia Chisolm.

The Board heard from one speaker during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Trina Parker


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Tristan Strother, Student Government representative from South View High School and Kennith Echeverria, Student Government representative from Westover High School. Tristan and Kennith were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board RECOGNIZED the following National Board candidates for completing their National Board certification process. Each candidate was presented with a $500.00 stipend.

            Karrie Andersch, Westover High School

            Jaime Gilas, Gray’s Creek Middle School

            Richard Johnston, Brentwood Elementary

            Yulonda Smalls, Brentwood Elementary

            Jamie Stanley, Brentwood Elementary

            William Till, Terry Sanford High School

            Toscha Yeager, Gray’s Creek High School


The Board recognized the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

            Langdon Paquin – Long Hill Elementary

Tyrease McCray – Douglas Byrd High (accepted on his behalf by school counselor)

Chairman Alicia Chisolm called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA

Upon motion by Greg West, seconded by Kim Fisher, the following Consent Agenda items were approved by unanimously by the Board.

3.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the November 12, 2013 Board Meeting

3.02 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.03 CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.04 CONSIDER Approval of Special Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.05 CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendation as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.06 CONSIDER Approval of 2013-2014 Local Option Waiver as recommended by the Curriculum Committee

3.07 CONSIDER Approval of Request to name the Gymnasium at Westover High in honor of Coach Gene Arrington as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee

3.08 CONSIDER Approval of the DPI SRO Matching Grant Application to provide 9 additional officers for the period of the grant at our elementary schools as recommended by the Auxiliary Services Committee

3.09 CONSIDER Approval of “Make a Choice Week” (Jan 26, 2014 – Feb 1, 2014) Proclamation as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee

3.10 CONSIDER Approval of Budget Amendments as recommended by the Finance Committee

3.11 CONSIDER Approval of Revised / New Policies (Second Reading) as recommended by the Policy Committee



Chairman Alicia Chisolm opened the floor for nominations for the 2014 Board Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Carrie Sutton nominated Greg West as the 2014 Board Chairman. Upon unanimous vote, Greg West was elected as 2014 Board Chairman.

Larry Lancaster nominated James McLauchlin as 2014 Board Vice Chairman. Upon unanimous vote, James McLauchlin was elected as 2014 Board Vice Chairman.



Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till praised our students and staff for their commitment to “giving back” to our community. He commended tonight’s student officers as examples of compassion and generosity. He used our recent computer giveaway day as a representation of what our students and staff accomplishes every day to meet the needs of our community.

Board member Update:

Mr. Boose shared information about the Methodist University Academy of Scholars. It is a great program and hopes we will pursue involvement with the program.

Dr. McLauchlin thanked Mrs. Chisolm for her service to the Board this year.

Mr. West also thanked Mrs. Chisolm for her service. He plans to continue the course.

Mr. West shared his two focus areas for the upcoming year will be funding and advocacy for teacher pay.

Chairman’s Update:

Mrs. Chisolm shared that it was her honor to serve as Board Chair for 2013. Our employees are second to none. “I am proud of you”, said Mrs. Chisolm. She encouraged parents to stay involved. Mrs. Chisolm shared with fellow Board members that she was proud to serve with them.

Mrs. Chisolm closed the meeting by thanking those in attendance tonight. She reminded everyone of the closing of facilities for the winter holiday and wished everyone a joyful season.

Meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.


Frank Till, Superintendent



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias