Board Minutes – October 8, 2013
Published by Laurie Pender on November 13, 2013

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
October 8, 2013

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, October 8, 2013 at 6:30 p.m., in the Auditorium at the Educational Resource Center, with the following board members present: Alicia Chisolm, Larry Lancaster, Carrie Sutton, Michael Boose, Kim Fisher, James McLauchlin, Susan Williams, Greg West and Macky Hall. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Betty Musselwhite, Ron Phipps and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Executive Director Patricia Hollingsworth; Ft. Bragg liaison; media representative, representatives of the principals association and representatives of the teacher assistants.

Chairman Alicia Chisolm called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Michael Boose, followed by the invocation by Susan Williams.

The Board heard from two speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Amira El Sherif
Nicole Trent


The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Alejandro Benitez, Student Government representative from Cumberland International Early College High School and Katelyn Godbold, Student Government representative from Gray’s Creek High School. Alejandro and Katelyn were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

The Board recognized Carla Brooks for being named State Media Coordinator of the Year

The Board recognized the following students for Amazing Acts of Character:

Tiffani Moore – Pine Forest High School
Daniel Blake – Reid Ross Classical High School

Chairman Alicia Chisolm called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA.

Upon motion by Greg West, seconded by Kim Fisher, the following Consent Agenda items were approved by unanimously by the Board.

3.01 CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the September 10, 2013 Board Meeting

3.02 CONSIDER Release of Certain Students

3.03 CONSIDER Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.04 CONSIDER Approval of Teachers Recommended for Tenure 2013-2014 as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.05 CONSIDER Approval of Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.06 CONSIDER Approval of Special Leaves of Absence Requests as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.07 CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendation as recommended by the Personnel Committee

3.08 CONSIDER Approval of Revision of Graduation Policy 3460 as recommended by the Policy Committee (Second Reading)

3.09 CONSIDER NC School Boards Action Center as recommended by the Legislative Committee

3.10 CONSIDER Approval of the 2013-2014 Red Ribbon Proclamation as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee



The Board RECOGNIZED the following schools for 100% Graduation Rates

Cross Creek Early College
Howard Health and Life Sciences High School

The Board RECOGNIZED the following schools for being named Title I Reward Schools. Each school was presented with a banner to hang in their school.

College Lakes Elementary School
Cumberland Mills Elementary School
Ferguson-Easley Elementary School
Bill Hefner Elementary School
W. H. Owen Elementary School
J. W. Seabrook Elementary School
Stedman Elementary School
Sunnyside Elementary School
Walker-Spivey Elementary School
A. B. Wilkins Elementary School (presented with a trophy)



Board Member Update:

Mr. Boose congratulated our security staff and thanked them for their quick response to resolve the threat at Pine Forest High School.

Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till shared Broad Prize information (booklets) and receipt of the statue. Dr. Till updated the Board on current events.

Chairman’s Update:

Mrs. Chisolm congratulated our students and staff honored at tonight’s meeting and thanked them for their hard work. She updated the Board on activity from recent events she attended.

Mrs. Chisolm thanked the citizens, students and staff members for attending the meeting and invited everyone to enjoy refreshments provided in honor of the schools receiving recognition tonight.

Meeting adjourned at 7:10 pm.


Frank Till, Superintendent




Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias