Board Minutes – September 10, 2013
Published by Laurie Pender on October 9, 2013

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
September 10, 2013

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 6:30 p.m., in the Board Room, with the following board members present: Alicia Chisolm, Larry Lancaster, Carrie Sutton, Michael Boose, Kim Fisher, James McLauchlin and Macky Hall.  Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Tim Kinlaw, Ricky Lopes, Betty Musselwhite, Joseph Locklear, Allison Violette, Ron Phipps and Mary Black; Board Attorney David Phillips; Executive Director Patricia Hollingsworth; Ft. Bragg liaison; media representative, representatives of the principals association and representatives of the teacher assistants.  

  1. Chairman Alicia Chisolm called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.  Our Pledge of Allegiance was led by Carrie Sutton, followed by the invocation by Greg West.

The Board heard from two speakers during the Public Forum portion of the meeting:

Grace King     
Estelle Singletary

  1. The Board RECOGNIZED Student Representatives Lillian Finafrock, Student Government representative from Howard Health and Life Sciences High School and Vernesha Williams, Student Government representative from Pine Forest High School. Lillian and Vernesha were given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

Chairman Alicia Chisolm called for a motion to approve the CONSENT AGENDA. 

Upon motion by Greg West, seconded by James McLauchlin, the following Consent Agenda items were approved by unanimously by the Board.

3.01     CONSIDER Approval of the Minutes of the August 13, 2013 Board Meeting

3.02     CONSIDER Release of Certain Students 

3.03     CONSIDER Approval of Personnel, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

3.04     CONSIDER Approval of Special Leaves of Absence as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

3.05     CONSIDER Approval of Administrative Recommendations as recommended by the Personnel Committee 

3.06     CONSIDER Approval of Revision of Graduation Policy 3460 as recommended by the Policy Committee (First Reading) 

3.07     CONSIDER Approval of 2013-2014 School Nurse Contract with Cumberland County Health Dept and Cumberland County Schools as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 

3.08     CONSIDER Approval of 2013-2014 CCS Transition Program between CCS and Cumberland Community Action Program, Inc., Head Start as recommended by the Student Support Services Committee 



Upon a motion by James McLauchlin, seconded by Carrie Sutton, the Board voted unanimously to go into Closed Session Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 143-318.11(a)(6) to discuss proposed administrative recommendations.

Upon a motion by James McLauchlin, seconded by Kim Fisher, the board voted unanimously to come out of CLOSED SESSION.

The Board recognized Dr. Till to announce his recommendation for principal of Ireland Drive Middle School.

Upon a motion by Carrie Sutton, seconded by Greg West, the Board voted unanimously to appoint Christina DiGaudio as principal of Ireland Drive Middle School. 

10.02         Consider Approval of Administrative Recommendation – Upon a motion by Carrie Sutton, seconded by Kim Fisher, the Board voted unanimously to approve Earl Trip Satterwhite as the Assistant Principal and Athletic Director at South View High School. 



Superintendent’s Update:

Dr. Till shared that our schools opened with great success. He also reminded the Board of the September 25 announcement of the Broad Prize winner.

Chairman’s Update:

Mrs. Chisolm congratulated all of the Teacher of the Year candidates and announced our CCS 2013-2014 Teacher of the Year – Amy Noble.

Mrs. Chisolm thanked everyone for working hard to start our school year with smoothly and safely. She also thanked everyone for attending tonight’s Board Meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:14 pm.


Frank Till, Superintendent



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias