Board Action – March 12, 2013
Published by Laurie Pender on March 13, 2013

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education 
Regular Meeting

March 12, 2013 


Administrative Recommendation Approved
Tyra Harrison, Assistant Principal, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary School

The Fuller PLC/W.T. Brown Plan Gets ‘Go Ahead’ 
The Board approved a plan that would mean transferring the Fuller Performance Learning Center (PLC) to a larger facility because of its high demand and eliminating overcrowding at Howard Hall Elementary School. The Plan proposes that 148 students be transferred from Howard Hall Elementary to W.T. Brown Elementary School to better utilize the school, which is at 40 percent capacity. Transferring about 200 students from Alger B. Wilkins Elementary School to Brown Elementary is also a part of the Plan.

School Security Improvements Funding Approved 
The request for the appropriation of capital outlay funds in the amount of $500,000 for budget year 2012-2013 and $500,000 for budget year 2013-2014 for school security improvements was approved. The monies will be used to better secure school entry points, which include the purchase and installation of additional fences and sturdier locks, hardware, and windows.

Softball Field Gets New Name 
Approval came from the Board to name the softball field at South View High School (SVHS) in honor of Retired educator Eddie Dees. The former teacher and coach taught at the high school 35 years and coached girls’ softball there for 25 years.

More SROs for Elementary Schools Approved 
The Board approved the request that various law enforcement agencies in Cumberland County provide school resource officers (SROs) to serve elementary schools within their jurisdiction. Currently, 38 sheriff’s deputies work as SROs throughout the school system.

Board Gives Proclamation Approval
The Board pledged its support in proclaiming May 9, 2013, as Cumberland County Schools’ National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day. The day will be set aside for parents and CCS’ educators to direct their thoughts and plans toward children’s mental health awareness and well-being.

Student government leader Shaun Jones from Massey Hill Classical High School and Essence Evans from Douglas Byrd High School served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support, introduced February’s Amazing Acts of Character honorees Victoria Tew and Mackenzie Volanti from Gallberry Farm Elementary School. They were chosen from individual school nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character.’ Personal congratulations were extended to both from the members of the Board.



Board of Education

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Greg West

Michael Boose

Kim Fisher

James McLauchlin
District #2

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Larry Lancaster
District #4

Susan Williams
District #5

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances