Board Action – December 11, 2012
Published by Laurie Pender on December 12, 2012

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education 
Regular Meeting

December 11, 2012 


Board Members Take Oaths of Office 
Elected representatives Alicia Chisolm, Macky Hall, Larry Lancaster, James McLauchlin, Carrie Sutton, and Susan Williams took their oaths of office administered by Cumberland County District Judge Ed Pone.

New Board Chair & Vice Chair Named 
Members of the Board elected Alicia Chisolm as the chair and Greg West as the vice chair. Both will serve a one-year term.

Choice Schools Approved for 2013-2014 
The Board approved Choice schools for the 2013-2014 school year. The Choice guide and application will be available via the CCS’ Website beginning January 2.

Administrative Recommendations Approved

    Benjamin Brown, Assistant Principal, Lewis Chapel Middle

    Tyson Johnson, Assistant Principal, South View High

    Michael Bain, Assistant Principal Transfer, Massey Hill Classical High

Proclamation Gets ‘Thumbs Up’ 
The Board pledged its support to recognize the 2012-2013 school year as Heart Health Year in the Cumberland County Schools through the following events: Jump Rope for Heart, Hoops for Heart, High School Red Out and district-wide Wear Red Month in February. The school system continues to join forces with the American Heart Association and the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance to fight America’s numbers one and three killers, heart disease and stroke, respectively.

Student government leaders DeLantra Johnson from Westover High School and Michael Gomez from South View High School served as ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Betty Musselwhite, the associate superintendent of School Support, recognized Lisa Packer, a teacher at Stoney Point Elementary School, who was recently announced by the North Carolina Music Educators’ Association (NCMEA) as the 2012-2013 N.C. Elementary Music Teacher of the Year. This prestigious award was presented to her before an audience of over 2,000 during the Association’s in-service conference in Winston-Salem last month.

Afterward, the top four finishers in the 2nd Annual Scholastic Gingerbread House Competition during A Dickens Holiday festival in Downtown Fayetteville were recognized. The following teams of Culinary and Foods II students at schools from across the county received a cash prize for their Dickens’-inspired masterpieces: 1st place – Douglas Byrd High School ($500 prize); 2nd place – Westover High School ($250); 3rd place – E.E. Smith High ($150); and 4th place – Pine Forest High School ($100). The competition was sponsored by H & H Homes.

Ricky Flowers, a teacher at Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary School, was recognized for recently being honored by the North Carolina Science Teachers’ Association as the recipient of the District 4 Outstanding Science Teacher Award.

Musselwhite also introduced November’s Amazing Acts of Character honoree Janae Harris from Long Hill Elementary School. The fifth grader, chosen from individual school nominations for displaying ‘acts of good character,’ was also recognized by the Board.


Board of Education

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Greg West

Michael Boose

Kim Fisher

James McLauchlin
District #2

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Larry Lancaster
District #4

Susan Williams
District #5

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances