Board Action – September 11, 2012
Published by Laurie Pender on September 12, 2012

Next Step

A report on Board action
Cumberland County Board of Education 
Regular Meeting

September 11, 2012 


Board Approves School Resource Officer (SRO) Agreement 
Members of the Board approved to renew a contract with the Cumberland County Sheriff’s Department for 34 School Resource Officers (SRO) to continue their work in local high and middle schools. Four officers provide support to local elementary schools. The positions are jointly funded by the State of North Carolina, Cumberland County, and the Cumberland County Schools.

Contractual Agreement for 10 School Nurses Approved 
A contractual agreement between the Cumberland County Board of Education and the Cumberland County Department of Public Health was approved by the Board to meet the salary expenses for 10 registered nurses during the 2012-2013 school year. The nurses, who assist students throughout the CCS, work in collaboration with those funded by the Department of Public Health.

Board Approves Agreement Involving Easter Seals UCP
The Board accepted an agreement that involves the school system and Easter Seals – United Cerebral Palsy (UCP) regarding developmental day center contract funding. The State Board of Education presents funds to assist school districts with providing special education and related services to children who are placed in accredited developmental day centers like Easter Seals UCP centers which include the Dorothy Spainhour UCP facility located on Hull Road.

Administrative Recommendations Approved

Assistant Principals:

Katrina McKinnon, Asst. Principal, Gray’s Creek Elementary

John V. Howard, Asst. Principal, Reid Ross Classical 

Student government leaders Kadejah Murray from Howard Health and Life Sciences High School and Robert Reid from Pine Forest High School served as the ex-officio members of the Cumberland County Board of Education during the September 11 meeting. Ex-officio members are given the opportunity to make comments, ask questions, and give input on any topic brought before the Board.

Career and Technical Education (CTE) Coordinator Carson Phipps presented two Agriculture Education Program Improvement Grant awards to representatives from Cape Fear and Gray’s Creek high schools. Cape Fear High’s grant award was $5,000 while $3,500 was given to Gray’s Creek High. The grant is sponsored by the North Carolina Trust Fund Commission.

Ron Phipps, the associate superintendent of Evaluation and Testing, presented recognition banners to area North Carolina Title 1 Reward Schools and North Carolina Honor Schools of Excellence. The following Cumberland County schools were recognized as North Carolina Title 1 Reward Schools for 2012-2013: Walker-Spivey Elementary, Cumberland Road Elementary, Ferguson-Easley Elementary, W.H. Owen Elementary, J.W. Seabrook Elementary, Alger B. Wilkins Elementary, and W.T. Brown Elementary. The following 11Cumberland County schools were presented a banner for being named N.C. Honor Schools of Excellence: Jack Britt High, Cross Creek Early College High, Cumberland International Early College High, Howard Health and Life Sciences High, Beaver Dam Elementary, District 7 Elementary, Eastover-Central Elementary, Long Hill Elementary, Raleigh Road Elementary, Stedman Primary, and Stedman Elementary. 



Board of Education

Larry Lancaster
District #4

Alicia Chisolm
District #1

Michael Boose

Kim Fisher

Greg West

James McLauchlin
District #2

Carrie Sutton
District #3

Mary Emily Royal
District #5

Macky Hall
District #6

Frank Till



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias