Board Minutes – September 2011
Published by Laurie Pender on October 11, 2011

Cumberland County Board of Education
Fayetteville, North Carolina
September 13, 2011

The Cumberland County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, September 13, 2011, at 6:30 p.m., in the Board Room, with all board members present: Carrie Sutton, Larry Lancaster, Michael Boose, Alicia Chisolm, Kim Fisher, Macky Hall, James McLauchlin, Mary Emily Royal, and Greg West. Others present were Superintendent Frank Till, Associate Superintendents Mary Black, Tim Kinlaw, Joseph Locklear, Ricky Lopes, Betty Musselwhite, and Allison Violette, Assistant Superintendents Theresa Perry, and Ron Phipps; Board Attorney David Phillips; Fort Bragg Schools Youth Education Support Services Director Glenda Mack, UniServ Director Gloria Carter, CCAE President Wanda Kindell, representatives of the principals association, representatives of the teacher assistants, and a representative of the media.

Chairman Carrie Sutton called the meeting to order. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Greg West, followed by James McLauchlin giving the invocation.

Board members heard from three speakers during the Public Forum:

Billy R. King, 739 Ashfield Drive, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Ross Carkeet, 6730 Irongate Drive Apt C, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Carmela MeKeller-Smith, 6840 Thames Drive, Fayetteville, North Carolina

The Board recognized Student Representatives Sterlyn Newkirk, SGA representative from Cape Fear High School, and Callie Brown, SGA representative from Terry Sanford High School. Each student was given the opportunity to address the Board on a topic of their choice.

Ms. Sutton called for a motion to approve the Consent Agenda.

Upon motion by Kim Fisher, seconded by Alicia Chisolm, the following

Consent Agenda items were approved unanimously:

a) Approval of the MINUTES of the July 28, 2011 Special Board Meeting and August 9, 2011 Board Meeting

b) RELEASE of Certain Students

c) Approval of the YOUTH TOBACCO SURVEY 2011 as recommended by the Student Services Committee

d) Approval of the VOCATIONAL REHAB IN-SCHOOL WORK ADJUSTMENT PROGRAM AGREEMENT for 2011-2012 as recommended by the Student Services Committee

e) Approval of the BUDGET AMENDMENTS as recommended by the Budget/Finance Committee

f) Approval of the LOTTERY APPLICATIONS as recommended by the Budget/Finance Committee

g) Approval of ADOPTING BOARD POLICIES as recommended by the Policy/Student Assignment Committee

h) Approval of RESCINDING CERTAIN BOARD POLICIES THAT HAVE BEEN REPLACED as recommended by the Policy/Student Assignment Committee

i) Approval of PERSONNEL, including Certified, Teachers, Teacher Assistants, Classified, Child Nutrition, Bus Drivers, and Prime Time, as recommended by the Personnel Committee

j) Approval of Recommendations for CAREER STATUS, as recommended by the Personnel Committee

k) Approval of LEAVES OF ABSENCE Requests, as recommended by the Personnel Committee

l) Approval of SPECIAL LEAVES OF ABSENCE Requests, as recommended by the Personnel Committee

m) Approval of the Principal for ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS as recommended by the Personnel Committee

n) Upon motion by Carrie Sutton, seconded by Kim Fisher, the committee voted to go into Closed Session (opposed by Michael Boose) pursuant to N.C.G.S. 143-318.11(a)(1) to prevent the disclosure of information that is privileged or confidential N.C.G.S. 115c-319.

o) Upon a motion by Alicia Chisolm, seconded by Greg West, the committee voted unanimously to come out of closed session. No action taken in closed session.



Legislative Committee Report:
Greg West shared that the August 23, 2011 Legislative Delegation Meeting was very well received. Some of the information we shared with the delegation has been taken back to Raleigh and is influencing decisions.

Additional Business:
The Board agreed for the following volunteers to be the NCSBA Voting delegates:

Larry Lancaster
Alicia Chisolm
James McLauchlin
Carrie Sutton
Kim Fisher – Alternate



Superintendent’s Update:
November 12 is the date for the Graduation of Drop Outs as part of the Welcome Home Veterans. We have received very good response.

The Back to School event at the Crown Coliseum was a great event. We will do it again next year if the Race to the Top funds are available.

Thank you to Gloria Carter for all of her hard work and congratulations on her retirement. She will be missed.

Three additional Texas Roadhouse fundraiser nights are coming up. This event raises funds for Reading Rocks.

Chairman’s Update:
Congratulations to the 2011-2012 Teacher of the Year, Dewanna Holt.

Thank you to Pam Story and the SGA reps for the nice reception prior to tonight’s Board meeting. Also, many thanks to Pam and her group for the student school supply donation drive. You did a great job.

Mrs. Chisolm thanked tonight’s Public Forum speakers. The Board listens and appreciates that you share your thoughts with the Board.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:25.


/s/ Frank Till, Superintendent



Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances